Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How is live video feed when obstacles present?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by VoicOfReason, May 1, 2015.

  1. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    For those of you that have your hands on a Phantom 3, how is the video range when you have obstacles. For example, can you go out 1/2 mile and then go down to the ground and behind trees and still keep your video signal?
     
    RyanK likes this.
  2. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I'm surprised no one knows.
     
  3. graison

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    There being no iOS app for the live view might have something to do with it.
     
  4. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Mohan is probably the best person to ask
     
  5. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.

    What app does he use?.
     
  6. Detroit

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ann Arbor MI
    Well I can say this. Today I got my P3A and I used my Galaxy S5 for the view. Just a side note the Galaxy Tab S Is a VERY tight fit in the holder to the point where I was bending the screen to get it in the holder. I will Be taking that back tomorrow and just upgrading my phone to the Note 4 or IPhone 6 plus. Back on topic. I flew it 1/4 mile away and landed in my grandparents driveway and took off and I didnt even have a glitch. So far im EXTREMELY happy with everything!!! It was in their front driveway and there is another house and some woods in front of it. Very impressed!!.
     
  7. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Awesome!!
     
  8. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Would you be willing to push it a little farther, maybe a 1/2 mile and tell us if you can go down and still get a clear video signal with obstacles in the way?
     
  9. Detroit

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ann Arbor MI
    TBH I may try it tomorrow but it makes me a bit nervous. It all depends on how I feel tomorrow LOL.
     
  10. dysan911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    60
    Keep an eye on the Live HD Signal meter in the app and you should be fine. Worse case it does an RTH.
     
  11. offthefront

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    Make sure your RTH altitude is above the tallest obstacle. . I had my P2 set @ 150'
     
  12. JustinS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    McComb, MS
    I just got to fly for a bit, but behind a really thick acre of trees when my phantom was about 1000 ft. away, I didnt have so much as a stutter. That is actually saying something, as even with Stage 3 Fpvlr upgrade on my P2, it always lost signal.
     
    dysan911 likes this.