How Heavy can a Phantom get before...

PJA

Reaction score
I'm reading all the posts on here about people adding Gimbals, FPV equipment, two batteries, different landing gear...

When does a Phantom get too heavy to handle all these different configurations?

I've been flying for a few months now and and everything was stock. I've caught the bug and bought a cheap Gimbal to see if I can eliminate many shakes in my video. The Gimbal hangs beyond the stock landing struts, so I invested in a Simensays Foldable Landing gear. I got the Gimbal to work while attached to the Phantom, but for now I'm grounded until I get a compass pad for the landing gear which was accidentally not shipped with the kit.

Question is: My Phantom is SO heavy now, I can't see it lifting off with this kind of weight. And I was thinking of adding an FPV set up in the future, not to mention adding a headlight for night flights so I can see the Phantom better. Isn't the weight and lights, even adding an FPV system, an extra drain on the battery? Will I need a two battery system (more weight) like I've seen on some threads?

I was averaging around 8 minutes a flight after warm up and Satellite lock. What will my time of flight be now? Sorry to sound so ignorant, but this site has been great for advancing me to new 'heights' in this hobby... Just a few more clues would be great!!!

Thanks!

How heavy is your phantom? likely not as heavy as my 3D setup which I just flew today at my new record weight of 1305g. This wouldn't take off with regular props at all but using 9x5 triblades it still flys fine. I did my last flight with just a single camera at 1157g and sure it fly's faster but with my setup I think 1.3kg is the max I would fly, using regular props its running out of puff anything over 1150g and DJI max weight recommendation is 1.2kg.