How Fast Do DJI Quads Sink In Water?

Reaction score
Very new to flying and have a creek behind my house that is 80 yards wide and 27 miles long. Would eventually like to take some cool movies above the water of the islands of water hyacinth, turtles sitting on logs etc. but haven't had the guts yet as I am not experienced enough to be confident of my flying skills. Need more practice over land. Once in the water does a DJI quad float at all or does it sink like a rock? Hopefully no one can answer this question from actual experience! :D

Fortunately, I cannot speak from experience, but my guess is, it would sink quite quickly. Perhaps not like a rock, but it does have quite a few openings for the water to get in, so I don't think it would last long.

Why don't you fit it with a set of floats, like a sea plane, and deliberately land it on the water. That would be cool! :eek:

There will be quite a few chiming in on this one. The phantom weighs around 1.3kg so it will sink pretty quick. My P1 disappeared into the sea never to be seen again.

Don't forget that the Phantom doesn't know it is over water; only the pilot does! Go for it, it will be nerve wracking at first, but the BEST shots are taken over water IMHO.

If you do not want it to sink... make some drivers to let it float... You only need a boat to get it back.. ;)

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OleU6XNA-0s[/youtube]

I've seen a lot of videos of Phantoms crashing in water,the best ones are with the camera still recording as it sinks to the bottom. Fish seem to be attracted to them.

The Phantom shell does not have enough volume to float it's weight. Even if you sealed up all the holes, it would sink quickly. I have tried all types of floats. It is possible to land and take off from water with them but they have two problems.
Any volume big enough to float the Phantom, will act like a sail in the wind and prop wash, affecting handling and flight time.