How far From Power Lines should I be?

Reaction score
Hi.. I'm a Newbie with a Phantom 2 non-vision...I see warnings about not flying near Cell Towers or Power lines. There are a lot of power lines in my area. I'm not talking about giant Hi-Voltage towers.
To be safe how far should I be...Where I can't even see an power lines? 200-300 ft? I have a friend who flew near some to film a hawk and had no issues, but I want to be careful.
Am I safe if I am just not flying right next to them? Thanks in advance.
Keep soaring!
Steve

If you are asking about local supply lines, they are probably more danger as an obstacle than anything else.
At 20 ft you'd have no EMF issues and for flight safety you'd want to stay further away anyway.

Welcome to the party Steve.

Where are you? Watcha flying?

My advice on power lines has to do with underground lines.
Don't do the Compass Dance right over the top of them.
I have tried to calibrate the compass right over the top of my underground lines numerous times and it makes my bird stupid. :roll:

A friend of mine flew into a 30 foot power pole, with my FC40, and hit just below the transformer.
We dusted it off, put on a couple new props and it flew just fine. I think I got the indestructible model.

Enjoy the show

pianoflyer said:
Hi.. I'm a Newbie with a Phantom 2 non-vision...I see warnings about not flying near Cell Towers or Power lines. There are a lot of power lines in my area. I'm not talking about giant Hi-Voltage towers.
To be safe how far should I be...Where I can't even see an power lines? 200-300 ft? I have a friend who flew near some to film a hawk and had no issues, but I want to be careful.
Am I safe if I am just not flying right next to them? Thanks in advance.
Keep soaring!
Steve