How Does P3P RC Know Its Location?

Reaction score
Did a test yesterday to see if DJI has really put airport avoidance into P3P firmware. Within a mile of a Class C airport, my P3P RC would not even turn on. Moved 0.7 mile farther away, it turned on OK but said it couldn't connect with the Phantom. Moved another 0.2 mile farther from the airport and all was well. I didn't intend nor try to fly because I knew I was within the airport's airspace.

The GPS and Glonass signals are received by the Phantom, not its RC, so the P3P's position is transmitted to the RC (and thus to the iPhone, tablet or Android) via Lightbridge - am I right? So how did the RC know not to turn itself on when close to the airport, and neither the Phantom nor the iPhone 6 were turned on?

Before you rag on me for being irresponsible near an airport, know that I have been flying a P2V within the same airport airspace for two years, always with the knowledge and permission of the airport's tower personnel for every single flight within that airspace. And know that it was not my intention to fly yesterday - and I didn't - just to test whether or not the P3P and its RC would even respond near the airport. Answer is that the RC did NOT turn on within one mile but did about two miles away. And yes, I tried several times without success, and I reiterate, I did not intend or attempt to fly at either location.

And to continue with a related question, when the GO app gives a distance and a height for the Phantom, is that from the Phantom to the Home Point or to the RC? And if to the RC, then how does the Phantom know where the RC is located unless they are communicating by differential GPS???

Reactions: Trackman1
It uses HomePoint to know where it is in relation to lift off. Are you saying the TX would not power on? Never heard of that happening.