Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How do you use the new features?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Buckaye, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Hey guys -

    I'm all updated... and I realized you need to make sure your set to multiple flight modes to even get to the new functions and switch the controller to F mode.

    But once you click the icon for the new functions... I am not sure how to do things like set the point of interest and/or waypoints. It keeps telling me to take the phantom off when I click on waypoints or POI - does that mean you can't set waypoints before you're flying?

    If there are instructions to this that I missed can you point me to them?

    Thanks all
    Alex
     
  2. Bigdz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    I cant find the new flight modes
     
  3. Okie72

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    14
    People, you need to Read and Watch the information that's out there before jumping into it and then not know how to do it.
     
    P3ChinaSkies and Sammynels like this.
  4. Quinn

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    This might help ...
    DJI Forum|Guide: OVERVIEW OF THE NEW P3 GROUND STATION FUNCTIONS
     
    Buckaye likes this.
  5. Doug J.

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    9
    this should help:

     
    dirkclod, bmcgnh and Buckaye like this.
  6. cdusher

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Crossville, Tennessee, USA
    I had a problem at first because the app store didn't actually show the new updated app.
    Just looked again and it was there. Updated and so far so good. I do see the new options.
     
  7. hidaven

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    114
    How about some DJI released info??? Just checked DJI website and nothing regarding this stuff.
     
  8. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando

    Thanks for this! Very helpful! as was the written version.

    Kind of dislike the implementation of the waypoint function. I feel like it was cool on the Phantom 2 to be able to create waypoints while your Phantom was on the ground. As it is... you're wasting battery power by flying the route the first time to set your waypoints and then flying the pattern again. I get that it gives you the ability to control the camera as you fly the route... just disappointed that you can't set it in advance :(
     
  9. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Has anyone got a link to that video on YouTube I can't find it and want to send the link to a friend.
     
  10. Fast13

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    94
    The waypoints feature is a complete joke. DJI is making great products and stupid decisions at the same time. It will be nice someday in the future to have an alternative.
     
  11. MPD352

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    29
    What a disappointment! The whole purpose of a way point function is to allow you to map a course to set locations, at set speeds, then let the bird fly that course while you work the camera. What are these morons thinking?
     
  12. bmcgnh

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Is this the link?

     
  13. bmcgnh

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    What software do you use to capture the flight telemetry on the screen? I'd like to do that for reviewing some of my training flights....It's very helpful to be able o correlate altitude with video resolution, etc.
     
  14. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Thats it cheers bud.
     
  15. RCPILOT

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Agreed. Waypoints is very disappointing. I hope third party apps do this better...
     
  16. 2FST4U

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Agree, you can't use this for search and rescue at all. It's useless.
     
    Sammynels likes this.
  17. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    I am having an issue with mine. When I flip to F Mode I get a message saying course lock or home lock is enabled but I do not get the new menu to left of center. Its been odd as the first time I did get course lock but nothing else. Then was able to get the new modes once and now its blank. Tried two tablets, remove app and reinstall. Nothing now. Firmware is updated.

    Obviously missing something !

    The time when I did have everything showing up I started an orbit. Was working great. Stopped it after 1/3 revolution by flipping switch to P. Thought I would try a mission but never could get menu back.

    Any ideas?
     
  18. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Seem to have it working after trying about everything in the book. Last thing that I tried was format data recorder. See how it does now.
     
  19. denofr

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. Let us know when you figure it out
     
  20. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Works fine ever since I reset the data recorder. Both tablets. Fired it up on DJI developer simulator and flew a few missions.

    Not very impressive release unfortunately. The POI orbit is not bad.
     
    #20 rrmccabe, Sep 7, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2015