Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional How do I make my pictures rectangle

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by LordEvil, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. LordEvil

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    San Antonio Texas
    They show up Square, no matter what settings I use. Something I'm doing wrong?
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    look for camera setting (main screen - camera and cog icon) > 16:9. You have it on 4:3
     
  3. LordEvil

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    San Antonio Texas
    Thanks Mako, I thought that was just the viewing screen.
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    If you shoot with the 4:3 aspect ratio you get 4000 x 3000 pixels
    If you use the 16:9 format you get 4000 x 2250
    You would be better off to shoot 4:3 and get a bigger original image and choose what to crop yourself .. more sky or more foreground.
    That gives you a lot more flexibility.
     
    bobmyers and snerd like this.
  5. yblaser

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    Keep in mind the sensor is 4:3, so to get the 16:9 aspect ratio it is cropping the frame. It might be better to just crop in post so you have more flexibility.
     
  6. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yes, I shoot stills in 4:3 and crop in post.


    Sent from my iPhone 6+ using Tapatalk Pro