Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How do I file a NOTAM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nickster, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. Nickster

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    I am flying a commercial project on Sunday that is close to our local county airport (Class G). The manager has asked me to file a NOTAM. How do I do this? I wasn't expecting that. I figured I just needed to let him know. Any help would be great.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    There are couple of videos, they will guide you how to file a NOTAM. This is one:




    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  3. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    156
    Is this for a flight under 333 or a Part 107?

    If it's a 107, I'm guessing that it's the airport operator's responsibility. How close are you planning on flying?

    SB
     
    Falcon900 likes this.
  4. Nickster

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    I figured it out. Since I am flying close to one, the manager asked me to fill one out as part of my preflight. I am operating under Part 107. You have to fill out the planning form on 1800wxbrief.com. It is really easy and I will be adding this to all commercial preflight. Thanks @BigAl07 for the help!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Falcon900, Sagebrush and BigAl07 like this.
  5. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Hey bud. You're very welcome.

    If everything is current ATC can create the NOTAM but we still create one for every commercial op out of an abundance of safety.

    Safe flights my friend!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Sagebrush and Nickster like this.
  6. N42742

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Here's a new video we just posted on NOTAMs and TFRs:

     
    #6 N42742, Oct 7, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2016
    BigAl07 likes this.
  7. cdusher

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Crossville, Tennessee, USA
    Some of this is a bit confusing to me.
    What about applying for FAA airspace authorization?
    I've had not luck with that.
     
  8. N42742

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ask and ye shall receive:

     
    Falcon900 likes this.
  9. daveisim

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Rochester,NY
    If you mean the UAS Management page, then it will become a NOTAM only when you select "Have the service create NOTAM(s) for this UOA" and enter your COA number.

    Entering just the location and time and other information there only puts it on that particular map, no NOTAM is generated. Click on some areas on that map and you'll see some will say NOTAM and others will not.

    Neither the NOTAM/TFR video that N42742 has nor the alokbhargava video above showing the 1800WXbrief UAS Operating Area (UOA) form are showing the needed entries in the bottom right of the form as the user that has logged in for the video has not registered for this.

    AFAIK, COA's are only for 333 holders, not 107.

    UAS Op Area Form.jpg
     
    iankahr likes this.
  10. iankahr

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    So if you use the 1800wxbrief to define a UOA, and it's not a NOTAM, does anybody know about it?
     
  11. Nickster

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    That is for the old version of the website. It looks different now and when you create an account you have to specify if 107 or 333. Since I am 107, the interface is different where you don't need a COA as shown in the bottom right from the example.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  12. daveisim

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Rochester,NY
    Odd, I just now created a new user there and it's the same as before. Where are you given the choice of 333 / 107? I looked at all the Account and UAS screens and don't see it.
     
  13. Nickster

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    So, at this point, after watching the training video again on the site, it only posted a UOA. Dave was correct with the COA for doing it on the site (333 item). If you click on the help, it does give the phone number to call to have the NOTAM for UAS and says to do it that way. Until we all have our Remote PIC and not just temporary, you will have to call since you have to give your certificate number.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  14. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Being a private pilot, I've never known of a way that pilots create NOTAM's (Notice to airman) Pilots submit flight plans to the authorities, but not a NOTAM. The FAA and/or airport usually issues them. I haven't been active in quite a while, so I may not be up on all the current rules, so I could be wrong.
     
  15. Richard R

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Ohio
    FYI, I check ICARA yesterday and my UAS certificate number is there! No plastic yet.
     
  16. Nickster

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Thanks Richard. I will check


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  17. iankahr

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Maybe the NOTAM is created by the feds once a part 107 pilot askes for an airspace authorization via the authorization/waiver online portal.
     
  18. Richard R

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Ohio
    We can check as soon as they approve one! Several waivers have shown up, but no authorizations yet.
     
    iankahr likes this.
  19. Nickster

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Maybe. I was in Class G. The airport just asked if I would please post one.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    iankahr likes this.
  20. Richard R

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nick,
    Just went back to your original post. Actually under Part 107, you aren't required to notify a Class G airport before you fly. Probably not a bad idea as a courtesy, but not a requirement. The system could quickly get overloaded if we start requesting notams for every commercial flight. If the FAA doesn't think we need to contact the airport, doubt that they would think a Notam was necessary.
     
    iankahr likes this.