How crazy is flying from a boat?

Reaction score
I have been flying my Phantom I for a few months now and have yet to experience a fly-away, crash, or electronics failure. I've even flown it from a boat a few times, but the more I read the boards, the more I wonder if this is just foolhardy. Both my batteries seem to deliver a rock-solid 10 minutes and I've always aimed to have the multirotor back over the boat at 8 minutes. Is this just madness on my part?

I have considered adding foam-noodle floats, putting my GoPro in a case, and using the techniques at http://flitetest.com/articles/waterproofing-electronics to make a crash only $$ instead of $$$$$. On the other hand, I fear that the floats would add windage and weight and end up making a water landing more likely than if I try to keep things as light as possible.

Any advice?

Overwater flying is about as foolhardy as flying over land.
It's all what you make it.
The floatation schemes that some nervous flyers come up with are pretty well junk that would seriously handicap your flying and probably still soak your bird on a water landing.
Fly where you are happy and confident doing it.

I tried the pool floats my first over water flight,thing flew like a rock lol.Ive actually crashed into water before when I was doing test flight for my phantom 1.5,nothing messed up :D .I just take extra caution to make sure everything's good to go before I venture over water.we live very close to the Tennessee river so a majority of the time I'm over water.its all what you get used to.

Meta4 said:
Overwater flying is about as foolhardy as flying over land.
It's all what you make it.
The floatation schemes that some nervous flyers come up with are pretty well junk that would seriously handicap your flying and probably still soak your bird on a water landing.
Fly where you are happy and confident doing it.