Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How can you tell when the TX batteries are going Flat?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by denodan, May 11, 2013.

  1. denodan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Still using the same AA batteries in my TX. How do you know when they are going flat?
     
  2. Capodrone

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1

    My guess would be when your gut tells you it's time - replace them. I am however wondering the same?
     
  3. telecaster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    from the Phantom manual:



    Dont do as I did, when turning on the TX saw rapid red flashes from the LED and changed the batteries :oops:
    the red flashing means linking between TX and RX, it should change to a stable red light after a little while.
     
  4. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    the Tx and Rx do not communicate back and forth. the Tx transmits, and the Rx receives.
    the Tx has no idea if it's connected to the Rx
     
  5. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    I tested indoor without props, simulating flying after BEEP ... BEEP on battery low TX.
    Bored after 38 minutes and 3 phantom battery change...TX still working with "low batteries"... So after TX battery beep alert, you can use it at least 20 more minutes ( at your own risk :shock: ). DJI wrote: don't worry... After beep alert your TX keep working, just replace your batteries as soon as possible. ;)
     
  6. LJ35

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    I wonder how much TX range is affected when you get the low battery warning? Testing indoors will not reveal any deficiencies in range.
     
  7. telecaster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    Well Sir, I never said they did, I just said they were doing the linking sing and dance number.
    (after 45 years of using RC equipment, I sort of agree with you that in most cases a TX only send
    and an RX only recieves :ugeek: )
    Here is what DJI says:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. LJ35

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    I always wondered... If the TX is always powered up first, how does it "link" to the RX? :)
     
  9. telecaster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    Its the other way around, the RX links to the TX, thats one of the reasons why the TX should be on first,
    but if the bindprocess has been done, in most cases the RX will link to its TX even if the TX is switched
    on after.
    BUT another reason why the TX always should be turned on first is that in some cases the RX can/will
    go into failsafe mode it its turned on and does not find a TX to link with.
    In that case if will start up its engines and try to lift 30 meters before going home, and can
    cause serious injuries doing so....