Hovering / take off and landing

Reaction score
I just received a phantom 2 for Christmas. The first two flights were great but now when I take off it immediately starts moving forward and will not hover. This is also true when I land which means it does a slight crash. Is there a way to correct this?

Thanks for any help you are offer to a rookie.

Did you read the manual ?
Did you do the firmware updates?
Did you calibrate the compass etc etc etc

I am also new to this, but if you are flying in GPS mode you probably need to remember the Phantom will "generally" stay within the expected area you want it to hover, however there is a "bubble" of about 2.5 meters laterally and about 1 meter up/down that you should/will expect some drift within. That is pretty **** good for the amount of $$$ a Phantom costs.

What positions are your switches in prior to take off ?

What pre flight checks do you do ?

Just a couple of things come to mind here:
Is there any damage to your props from tipping over? Are your switches both all the way forward?
Have you checked the transmitter stick calibration on the computer? Make sure the sticks have full range and center properly before you try again.
I'd also recommend hand catching once you have a steady hover. I bring the bird in facing away and downwind from me, about 6 feet high, grab the battery and pull the throttle all the way down. The props will stop in about 3 seconds if you hold it steady. Then make sure you have turned off the video recording before turning off the bird. :)

Fplvert said:
Just a couple of things come to mind here:
Is there any damage to your props from tipping over? Are your switches both all the way forward?
Have you checked the transmitter stick calibration on the computer? Make sure the sticks have full range and center properly before you try again.