Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Horizon not straight

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by nikon., May 5, 2015.

  1. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    I see a lot of video's online with the horizon a few degrees of perfectly horizontal.
    Is that a bug in the current firmware, because some users reported that calibrate gimbal not solve the issue?
    Anyone else with this problem and tips how to solve it?

    I get my P3 Pro in a few days and I'm hoping that I don't get this issue...
     
  2. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
    Mine is off by a few degrees and I have to manually adjust it every time I power on. Here is the suggestion I'm going to try today.

    "What we found is as follows; when you calibrate your IMU, you have to do it on the most level surface possible. If you perform this operation on a surface that is a couple degrees off the gimbal will calibrate to that off positioning. Get yourself a level and make a surface such as a small table and make it as perfect as you can. Then initiate the IMU calibration. Then on the same surface calibrate the gimbal. We found this to be a major stop gap measure to the issue of gimbal to drone positioning in the whole calibration process."

    Apparition stated, "the left leg of the person who sets them up at the factory is longer than their right leg."
     
    davemex and stinkbomb like this.
  3. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks for your fast response. Hopefully that solution will work. Please keep us posted!
     
  4. luisrsg

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    I will try that at some point this week too. I hate to have to readjust the gimbal before every flight. Keep us posted please.
     
  5. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    When I first connected mine, the gimbal adjustment widget was on the screen all the time until i canceled it.

    It appears to be spot on and looking back at my first video I am happy with it.
     
  6. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    Please keep us informed when someone try the solution posted above. :D
    I hate it to adjust the video later in postprocessing on that point and with that pricetag the Phantom shouldn't have that issue.
     
  7. Fourblade

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Warwickshire UK
    Hmm sounds like the gimbal adjustment isn't permanent :(...

    ....and isn't it a bit dangerous to calibrate the IMU on a non level surface?
     
  8. MSBBL

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    40
    Dumb question, how do you calibrate the IMU?
     
  9. Kingfish28

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84
    Watch this video, it will help.

     
  10. Fourblade

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Warwickshire UK
    From Tahoe Ed
    "These craft get jostled around in transit. I always do an IMU calibration before I fly a new model. I do not recommend that it be done on an unlevel surface."
     
  11. MSBBL

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    40
    Got it. Thank you!
     
  12. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Yea on the most level surface possible like gfredrone says.

    I posted on your other thread before about this thread with gimbal issues but then spotted you found it so deleted it. In case you were wondering where my comment had gone. LOL
     
  13. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hopefully DJI will fix this issue soon in an firmware update...
     
  14. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    There is no issue. Do an IMU calibration on a completely level surface and the gimbal will be level from then on.
     
    Akrosfer likes this.
  15. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    @bbfpv, how can I level outdoor on a completely level surface ;)? any tips?
     
  16. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Just do it indoors on a table w/ a level and a few magazines to stick under the table legs. Why outside?
     
  17. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    hmm okay, and how can you measure if the surface is level? or is it not so critical?
     
  18. PishPosh

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    42
    I'm guessing you can use a spirit leveler. Or if you're extra fancy a laser level should work too.
     
  19. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Use a level tool. Or set a marble on the surface and see if it rolls off or stays still.
     
  20. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Kitchen work tops are normally pretty good for this calibration, and you only need to do them every now and again at home, not out in the field.