Horizon FPV Antennas

Reaction score
I just received my new upgrade antennas from Horizon FPV. They look well made and were not that difficult to install. Although I did have a mishap with an U.FL connector on the P2V receiver board, and need to replace the receiver before I can test out the extended range. I'm also not sure how mounting the camera's upgraded antenna on the camera itself will affect gimbal performance, especially if it's pointing straight down on a Rotorpixel gimbal... I'll post results of a range test after I replace the P2V receiver. Here's a short slideshow of the setup:

https://vimeo.com/87879364

Thanks for that, my box of tricks from Horizon arrived this afternoon too. The fact the 5.8 antenna fits exactly in one of the cable run holes by the skids is great news.

I'm going to do the 5.8 mod first as I lose control signal before WiFi quite often, plus I want to wait until I have my Rotorpixel gimbal installed to have an idea of what mounting options there are and how flexible the supplied cables are.

The receiver pigtails being glued is a pain, I was hoping for a solder-free setup since I don't know how to solder! Any suggestions on a way to deal with the glued receiver pigtails without resorting to burning things (probably myself, mainly)?!

I had a slight issue in that I was one pigtail short in the kit, and one had a bit of manufacturing damage. HorizonFPV sorted it out straight away after a quick email by sending the missing one and a replacement for the damaged one straight away by first class post. Errors occur, it's hire you deal with them that counts and so far, so good!