Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced (Hopefully) Not your average compass question

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Liamus27, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. Liamus27

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ok, I have a compass question that I couldn't find the answer to.

    After flying this weekend I set the Phantom on a ledge by the river to record some static video and take some photos. Now there must have been some metal rebar in the concrete as the Go App gave me a compass error. My question is do I need to recal before my next flight now due to this error?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
  3. Liamus27

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thanks - could you elaborate further?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
  5. Liamus27

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Cornwall
    I did.

    DO Calibrate
    • Mod value out of whack or compass error reported (check area first).
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    Are you saying you walked away from the metal rebar and your mod value is still out of whack?
     
  7. Liamus27

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Cornwall
    No, I'm saying the linked post says mod value out of whack OR compass error reported.

    I had one of those two so it appears I need to recal? I'm just seeking clarification.
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    It's referring to a mod value that is currently out of whack when there is no interference in the area. That does not appear to be the case here, so you do not need to recalibrate.
     
    Phantomix likes this.
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    The compass tells you that it detects an abnormal magnetic field, you move away and the compass error goes away because your compass is now reporting that it is detecting the earth's normal magnetic field.
    Problem solved, you don't need to do anything else.

    Think of it like an old-fashioned needle compass.
    You bring it close to a piece of steel and it points to the steel instead of north (compass error)
    You take the steel away and the compass is back to pointing to north again.
     
    RodPad likes this.
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Perfect, I could come up with anything good this morning!