Homemade Windsurfer Question

Reaction score
I came across a thread that was talking about these and wanted to post this and get the opinion of the forum members here that have used or are using something like this. I am working graveyards this week and decided to make this at work because nothing is going, I was bored, all the materials were available curtesy my employer and I'm getting paid to make it [emoji3][emoji106]. Will this set up work or do I need to make two smaller ones and put them on each individual antenna? Realistically, how much range can I expect out of this? I flew my P3A today and I lost signal at 8205 ft. out and 300ft altitude. RTH kicked in and brought it back. First time I have tried going out for distance to see what it would do. VERY SCARRY FOR A TOTAL NOOB AT THIS [emoji3]. I was expecting more range out of it.

ec57a595005d4a468c08d82a813a505f.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The best test is try it without the windsurfer and see how far you get until RTH kicks in the again with the windsurfer and you should have you answer as to how well it does on your set up.

People report some effect from a foil pie dish or CD behind, so there may be some change.
The properly formed ones you can buy for peanuts will typically give about 50% range increase, or more usefully a more robust link at closer distance in less than perfect conditions e.g. tree branches.
The trade off is pointing directly at it is much more important.
The commercially designed version is using an accurately calculated shape to work with the frequency - it is possible a badly incorrect one might have a negative effect on range.

Reactions: mikecorn1
For a windsurfer to work at its optimum, the curve has to be just right, and at the exactly correct distance from the antenna. When you point a laser pointer at the foil surface, the beam should bounce back onto the antenna. In your design, much or all of the wave caught won't bounce back to the antenna.