Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Home point

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Cajvol94, Jul 16, 2014.

  1. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read the manual a few times but very confused on this. Is it possible to get all the satellites needed to get the GPS lock(all green lights)and not get the home point lock? What series of lights represent a good home point? Just very weary about trying the return to home function.
     
  2. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Home lock is when you get 20 green flashing lights.

    However the accuracy maybe diminished if you do not have have 6 or more satellites locked on.
     
  3. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is the rapid green blinking(I guess it's 20xs) represent home point lock. Is it the last group of green flashes? Do the motors need to be fired up to get it?
     
  4. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Yes that is the one.
    No just wait until you get home lock before starting motors.
    Takes in my location upto a minute to get home lock.
     
  5. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so as long I have that rapid green(20 or so x's) GPS and hone lock are both good?

    I've noticed from what I remember 2 rounds of 20+ green flashes in between of sine green/ red flash sequences.
     
  6. zerodb

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I reset home position (or more importantly, DIRECTION) in flight? Every time I find myself wanting to use Course Lock flight mode for video shots, the home direction is NEVER what I want it to be.
     
  7. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    i believe you can.
     
  8. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    Reset home position by moving switch 1 ( NOT the GPS one.) 5 or 6 times between top position and middle position only don't go into Home Lock position while doing this. The led will blink green rapidly when locked .Mandrake.
     
  9. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do this while it's on the ground before lift off, correct? I think you mean switch 2 top left of TX? My switch 1 is the gps/Atti/manual one.
     
  10. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    This is wrong, you can reset course lock by toggling S2 five times - as quickly as you can - between top and middle.
    Reset Home position by toggling either from top to bottom or (easier) from middle to bottom - five times again.

    If the reset is successful you will see a rapid green flashing from the LED

    Note you can reset home in the air and it will log the new altitude should you initiate the return to home either deliberate or a s result of losing control signal.
    This is useful if you know the terrain or trees are likely to mean the preset return height of 20 metres is not adequate ground clearance.
     
  11. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    I noticed when resetting the home position that the altitude and distance readouts on the screen display do not change. I would have thought they would both reset to zero..
     
  12. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reset home-The s2(IOC switch) or s1(GPS/Atti/Atti switch)?
     
  13. KimBrown

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dover, Kent, UK.
    Hi Guys, 4wd is correct about which switch to use...
    That's the one I've seen guys use...
    Never tried it myself. Never needed to.
    Just getting my head around regaining control after testing the RTH function.
    GPS switch to ATT1, Left stick hard down. Turn transmitter on, wait for rapid transmitter LED flashes, then center the stick... You should then have control again, and can change to GPS mode if you want.
     
  14. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    As I understand it, the first set of rapid green lights shows that it has GPS lock and the second set of rapid green lights shows that it has set the home position.

    Don't take off until you get a steady blinking green light - no red flashes.

    After you take off, get it a few feet up and let it hover to make sure it is going to stay in place. It may wander a few feet one way or the other, but it should correct its position on its own.
     
  15. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Almost, the first set of rapid flashes shows it has course lock which means it knows which way it is pointing.
    The second run of rapid flashes means enough sats obtained to determine home point.
    Sometimes both sequences happen together and you get one extended bout of flashing :)