Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Home point question...again

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Monte55, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I have read in bits and pieces in different posts about how the Phantom saves home point. My question is...does the Phantom remember the last home point saved even when you power down the phantom? Let's say I flew yesterday at a spot and had a hp saved. Turn off and go home. Today I'm at a different spot and don't get a good home point saved. Does it remember yesterdays hp? I thought when the Phantom is shut down, it remembers nothing. If it does remember,,is it with all Phantoms and all versions? If it does remember a previous hp and now flying in a different area, it enters failsafe, does it try to return to some previous area rather than where you are now. If so, this may explain some things about people losing their quads.
    I know it's easy to check if IOC is selected and after takeoff and a bit out, put S2 down to HL and pull back on right stick. But...not everyone has IOC set up so they couldnt do this check.
     
  2. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    No it doesn't remember the previous homepoint. I would imagine (though I don't know for certain) that if it went into fail safe mode without a home point it would just try to land wherever it is.
     
  3. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I think it was in the last day or so that someone stated it remembered last hp if a new one was not recorded but they were not real clear if if was after power down or what. I wouldn't think it would. So I had to ask. Thanks for reply. To me it's a moot point. You should always make sure you get a good gps fix if you want failsafe and HL to work
     
  4. Erwan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to set a home point better each flight and be sure it has encounter it before flying ? ( failsafe is to return auto to this homeport is that right?)
     
  5. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Not sure I understand your statement. Sounds like you're talking about half of a compass calibration. Please elaborate.
     
  6. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    That is part of the compass calibration. After you do the horz 360 and go from yellow to green, you have to do the vertical 360 nose down to get the slow flashing green. That has nothing to do with home point being recorded. Are we misunderstanding each other?
     
  7. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    Either you are or I am, bro!
     
  8. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Ok...this is what I understand. I havea Phantom 1 but it shouldn't make any difference. When you first power up the quad, it warms up while looking for satellites while gyros are settling in. If IOC is selected in assistant software, you will get green flashes with some red.The less red flashes, the more satellites it has found. Expect two sets of long quick green flashes. First set indicates course lock is aquired/stored...then more green flash with red perhaps. Second set of long quick green flashes indicates it has a gps fix for home point. They will not be locked in til motors are started. After two sets of quick green flashes you may want to do the compass calibration. Flip S1 switch about 5 or six times until you get solid yellow light. Hold level and turn doing a 360 and until light goes from yellow to solid green. Now hold nose down and turn again at least 360 until light is doing slow steady blink. You now have a home point and compass calibration. When you first power up quad, think about the direction you want it facing so if you use course lock in your flight, you'll know what to expect. I hope I said all of this correctly. I'm on a tablet
     
  9. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I didn't understand all of that. I have the P1 on ver 4.00. But the acquiring of satellites and compass calibration I'm sure is the same.
     
  10. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    I dont recognise that, but if it works for you it works for you.

    My own procedure is to do the compass dance only on the rare occaisions when I move around the country.

    Before each flight :
    Place quad in direction I want to fly
    Turn on Tx and quad and FPV
    Wait for IOC green flashes (after about 30s)
    Wait for Home point green flashes
    Check FPV for plenty of satellites
    Take off to about 10 feet
    Do basic checks for Home Lock to confirm Home Point
    Commence mission....
     
  11. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Ok...sounds good....explain how you confirm home point
     
  12. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    To confirm home point I fly about 20m out at about 45 degrees to take off point, point the quad at the landing point, switch to home lock and pull back on the RH stick. It should fly towards to take off point.

    Then to confirm I have a good chance of an accurate home point I do the same but this time at roughly 135 degrees (i.e. 90 degrees further round) from the take off point.

    If both home locks work from there I assume home point is good.
     
  13. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Ok. That's correct and how I confirm home lock. We are on the same page then.
     
  14. Erwan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys, very instructive.

    >Failsafe is link to the HP ?
    if something wrong happen it goes back to HP ( in case not enough batterie get down slowly vertically )

    >so to set home point you have to toggle s1 up and down then do a calibration ?
     
  15. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,749
    Likes Received:
    3,459
    Very instructive - Except is completely wrong.

    What is instructive is to refer to the Manual occasionally rather than depending on solely confusing (and possibly incorrect) forum posts for important points.
    Here's what the manual says ...
    [​IMG]

    So it's S2 for setting home point
     
  16. hemorrhagic flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Holy crap!

    That is priceless. Smart folks will not follow your lead.
     
  17. hemorrhagic flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just offering succinct advice to folks that may be swayed by the silliness that you posted in this thread.

    Really- that crap is not helpful and shows a lack of understanding that should embarrassing for you.
     
  18. Erwan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D this is definitely instructive... :geek:
     
  19. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Oh dear. I wonder where I got my info from.
    What I have written down is :
    To reset Course Lock, Move S2 from Position 1(Off) to Position 2 (CL) 5-8 times, and leave in CL for a few seconds until green lights flash on rear arms.

    To reset Home Point, Move S2 from Position 2 (CL) to Position 3 (HL) 5-8 times, and leave in HL for a few seconds until green lights flash on rear arms.

    Am I talking rubbish ?
    Not sure I have even tried this.

    Also see
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9GAvKuarr0

    EDIT : I think my version may be with IOC enabled, and the paste above from the manual may be with IOC disabled.
     
  20. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Phew :D