Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Hitec, Turnigy, Spektrum radio with Phantom 2

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by helixaviator, May 3, 2014.

  1. helixaviator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not seen any examples of radios other than Futaba being installed on Phantom 2 (Phantom 1 yes but not 2). Maybe this has been addressed already but has anyone had luck with a third party radio besides a Futaba?
     
  2. helixaviator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    just wondering if its even possible. When I tried to use the A,E,T,R ports I got nothing. The stock radio uses a S-Bus system so all the data for all the channels goes through the same port.
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    It seems that DJI disabled PPM input on the P2's NAZA, so if you use an aftermarket Tx/Rx it will have to be ones that use S-Bus (aka D-bus). FrSky has S-Bus Tx modules and receivers that will let you use Turnigy, JR and Spektrum controllers...I don't know who else makes S-Bus/D-bus compatible equipment (other than Futaba).
     
  4. helixaviator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks! that is exactly the info I was looking for.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    No problem! I have no idea why DJI disabled that in the P2...in the P1 (and any retail NAZA) you can choose Traditional (which is what you were actually looking for...1-1 channel input), PPM, or D-bus.
     
  6. helixaviator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a link for the frsky s-bus tx module that would work with turnigy 9x controller? Thanks!
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You bet! I'm using the T9X as well with FrSky gear.

    8 Channel: http://www.alofthobbies.com/jr-transmit ... odule.html

    16 Channel: http://www.alofthobbies.com/xjt.html

    Receiver I would suggest with either of the above: http://www.alofthobbies.com/frsky-x8r-a ... combo.html

    Note: you'll have to do some trimming of the plastic base around the connector pins in the Tx module bay on the T9X for either of those FrSky modules to fit in properly. It's easy, the plastic is soft and you can use a hobby knife or a pair of diagonal cutters.

    If you haven't already, I strongly suggest adding ER9X or OpenTx firmware on your controller, it'll open up the full potential of the T9X and make programming a breeze.
     
  8. helixaviator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again. Do you need special hardware to get er9x on the turnigy 9x? It looks like the Turnigy 9xr already has er9x is that correct? would I need extra hardware for Turnigy 9xr?
     
  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Correct, the 9XR already has ER9X on it. To be able to flash that on your 9X, you'll need a programming board, and this is the best/easiest option for that: http://www.smartieparts.com/shop/index. ... cts_id=331

    Once you have that installed (it's easier than it may look, and there's step-by-step instructions on the site), you can just hook up to the PC and flash ER9X or OpenTx or any of several other options to the 9X.