High Resolution, Manual Still Camera for Phantom?

Reaction score
Hello all,
This is my first post here on the forums. I'm a photographer, and I've been dreaming of a digital still camera I can put on the DJI Phantom that has manual control and decent picture quality (not to mention light enough to fly the copter safely). I currently shoot with a Gopro Hero 3 Silver (Not interested in the 1mp more Black edition) on my phantom, but I'm always disappointed by the quality of the photos I get at full resolution. I can hardly get a good quality picture at 5 megapixels after being brought down in photoshop. I need quality for my work. Secondly I would kill for manual control or raw files. Nothing's worse than having a blown out sky, or a black ground in JPEG files. I'm not interested in taking stills from videos or video modes at all for that matter.
Does anybody on here have experience with another camera that would work well with the Phantom that has nicer quality or manual mode?
Also, I've been seeing a few super-high-res camera phones, has anybody on here used one on a Phantom?
Thanks, and I look forward on hearing your thoughts.
-Jonathan
http://www.jonathansippel.com/js/aerials.html

I second the question. I'm not interested in the view from the tip of my non-existent surfboard. I want a camera with a "normal" or preferably moderate zoom lens for aerial work.

I think your needs will be pushing the boundaries of what u can do with just the Phantom. Panasonic TZ40 is a great little cam and if u are really brave u 'could' even operate the shutter in real time via the very good ios or android app. I say 'could' because like the GoPro it works off wifi and i have noooo idea what its range or interference would be. Not clear on if it is time lapse capable and it sadly doesn't do RAW.