Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Hi! I have troubles taking off...

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by teasp00n, Aug 1, 2014.

  1. teasp00n

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi there! I have a slight problem. It is probably just me who is doing something wrong but heres my problem.

    So sometimes when i try to take off with my vision + it is just the back porps that provide lift and it tilt over forward.
    This dont happens every time. But when it happens its a struggle to get it to take off normally. I have re-calibrate a lot of times for it to lift straight up.

    So im thinking that I prolly just suck and theres something easy that im missing.

    Can anyone tell me what im doing wrong?


    I am sorry if its been covered there already or its something very obvious that im missing


    Thank you! :)
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Are you applying full power?

    Take off works best if you just 'punch it, 'balls to the walls', WFO, etc. :p
     
  3. TeeJayN

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well, you can do that but then it will shoot up like a rocket. All you have to do is push up the throttle quickly about half way up. You'll have a clean take-off with out the rocket effect. Just don't advance the throttle slowly.
     
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    I wouldn't describe it as a rocket.

    TEHO.
     
  5. teasp00n

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    haha! i will try that "half way approach" :) .. (On the grass)

    Thanks!
     
  6. teasp00n

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Heh, nope that didnt work XD..well it flew. straight forward! luckily there was a tree not far away. :p I suspect im just bad at calibrating it.. cuz i got it to work right after that.

    Sorry for time wasted :p
     
  7. reginarh

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lake Creek, Oregon
    I've read that sometimes there are cold solder connections to the motors or to the motor control printed circuit board. You going to have to open it and take a look under the "hood" for a loose connect. Maybe that's why it started working after "talking to that tree". You would not want that connection to fail while you up a few hundred feet. Hope this helps.
     
  8. jaxbert

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the exact same problem with mine... when it was brand new out of the box!

    Several tip over crashes before takeoff...

    I did a IMU calibration (in the assistant software) and it solved the problem.
     
  9. teasp00n

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Im gonna hope that its a software issue and try that calibration!

    If its something "under the hood" then im screwed. Unless i send it to someone who have expertise in that area.

    Thanks!
     
  10. UrAwFuL

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    This might be a silly question, but are the propellers on right?

    (Black dot on screw = black propeller head)

    If not, then it's probably the calibration... check the assistant for any red flags.. if not, then it's a bad unit. :lol:
     
  11. srandall25

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    4
    another silly question... are all your props original stock DJI props? If not, change them to the stock ones.
     
  12. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    You can't put them on wrong/backwards!
     
  13. teasp00n

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well.. if you put the props on wrong it wont fly.. ever. and mine does fly from time to time :)
    i learned this with my Hubsan X4 mini quad i bought for practice before i got my pv2 ;)

    And theyre stock. straight from the box.
     
  14. Pmcdn

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I always go full throttle ascending to about 10 feet and hover a minute to make sure everything is functioning properly before going up higher.
     
  15. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I always have trouble getting it up.
    Find a nice box. :)

    All seriousness, get a box to take off.
    This is good for windy days. Place her on edge of the box that she tilts towards. This will minimise rotortilts on takeoff.

    And do this for me. Do a basic and advance IMU on a flat leveled surface (ignore the heat warning).
    Use the RC assistant and calibrate the transmitter.
     
  16. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Always gun the throttle full of the pipe until she's up about 10 feet, release all sticks and watch her hover. There should be no movement relatively. Don't ***** about until she's up there.
     
  17. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Nope... it won't take off like a rocket. Holding full power at take off for about two seconds gets the bird up to around ten feet or so. It really is the best way to get it safely airborne...

    -slinger
     
  18. UrAwFuL

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Oh, lolz. Well, I don't think I've ever intentionally put mines on wrong.. but I've ran into that with my old AR.Drone and lift-off looked a lot like this.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. teasp00n

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well.. i have been out flying a lot today. had no problems. until the last time i went out to fly. Launched fine but just seconds later it decided that it wanted to go straight into another tree :p so now i have a broken prop. Looking up all the software i need. Im so bad at this XD

    Theres a huge risk that im stupid.. but i cant get my pv2 to connect to my pc.

    Alright so i just tested this. I started it and left it idle on the ground. but it seems that it dont know that down is down. It thinks that when its tilted forward its horizontal.
    So i guess its the compass thats messed up.. if i could just figure out how to calibrate it ^^

    Sorry for my bad english.
     
  20. M.Tigelaar

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You really should read the Manuel and watch some videos. ;)