Help with USB connection problems

Reaction score
Hi,
Let me start by saying I'm a newbie here and with a brand new Phantom 2 V1.1.1. I've gone all out and bought a bunch of playful add ons like the Zenmuse H3-2D and the iPad Ground Station thing.

So far I've hovered the unit around my apartment living room, having not calibrated the compass, and everything went fine.

I've then laboured through installing the Gimbal unit and this seems to be working fine also, although I do need to calibrate I beleive so the panning feature works well.

That's about where everything went pear shaped. I've spent hours trying to connect it to my laptop (Windows 7 Professional) and my Desktop PC (Windows 8) and I can't seem to get the Assistants connecting to the Transmitter or Copter.

I've downloaded the DJI driver.
I've downloaded the DJI Assistant.
I've downloaded the Zenmuse Assistant.

The laptop recognises a device (with a 'beep') is attached but the Assistants don't see anything...

I've re-installed, shut down and re-started, re-installed again, I've sworn my head off but nothing seems to be able to complete the connection.

The DJI driver is in place - can see it in Device Manager...

I've considered I've got the start up order cocked up, or plugged too much or not enough in... seems I've tried all combinations.

I have noticed, however, that the desktop icons for the Assistants have the program logo along with a small "shield" on them which would indicate something is blocking the full use of the software. Have shut down my Eset Smart Security and done all combinations over again... still nothing.

Can anybody help? This is driving me crazy. Can't seem to find any solutions or forward movement anywhere.

Hope somebody can help. I'm hanging out to get this baby flying.

First, are you powering up the Phantom when you connect to the PC?