Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Help with new Dji go software!j

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by North Texas Guy, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    im a rookie on this broad, but I sure could use some help. I just tried to fly my 3 standard using Dji 'new' software that just showed up on my iPad mini. The screen looks almost the same, but for some reason, the D which I assume means the horizontal distance from me to my p3 and the other icon not named but shows an icon with a person and the p3 don't seem to be showing correct distances.. I assume the second icon gives the measurement like the hypotenuse of a triangle meaning the actual distance between me and my P3..Gosh I hope I have made this question clear. Any suggestions/. I always calibrate any time I'm taking off from a different location.
    Thanks so much if you went to the trouble to read this whole missive!!! Why don't the numbers make sense?
     
    RodPad likes this.
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,464
    DJI have never given a distance to the Phantom before.
    It's always been a horizontal distance and altitude.
    Sorry, I haven't got the new software to check.
    Can you show a screenshot?
     
  3. SZNJ732

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Keyport, New Jersey
    is it possible your new version of DJI go app showing distance in meters instead of feet? i think mine got changed to meters with the recent update... try going to settings screen and changing from metric to imperial system..
     
  4. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    ill be glad to try to do that. Ill try to do that this evening when I get home from work.
    thanks so much for the response.
     
  5. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ill give that a check tonight. thanks for the suggestion.
     
  6. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    this isnt my screen shot, but it makes the point. H i assume is altitude, D i assume is horizional and the little person icon showing 232 m maybe the 'hypotemus' i mentioned?
     
  7. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    oops failed to send shot....this work?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,464
    OK ... the numbers you are asking about are the horizontal distance:
    1. between the Phantom and Home
    2. between the controller and home
    To get the second distance you have to be using a phone or tablet with GPS and either be higher than VPS range or have VPS disabled.
    These pics using an earlier version of the app should explain it for you
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Updating firmware will change your settings in the app back to default values.
    After an update it's a good idea to go back and check your settings and reset any changes you made (RTH height, height limits, metric/imperial etc)
     
  9. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I always thought was from the home point?
    But your pictures show the Phantom in the same location, and the operator has moved, so OK.
    Also VPS is not on a P3S so that seems confusing, what would change whether it is on or off? If it had it.
    My first impression of the OPs picture that it was a total distance The height and distance combined to straight line between you and the phantom.

    Rod
     
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    @North Texas Guy

    Welcome to the forum!

    Oh and "Gosh" that was funny.

    Rod ;)
     
  11. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks for the input!
     
  12. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    269
    Ahem.....

    Never mind.

    Yes, H is "height", D is "distance". I'll have to look at the manual to see what the little man icon means.
     
    #12 Pharm, Oct 6, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  13. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    i really appreciate your response, but i simply do not understand what you are saying...i may just be a bit thick;! i have no idea what VPS is. so is the D the horz distance from home and the little icon thing is the distance horz between controller and home.. thanks for your patience. i not even sure if i have replied this in the right,place, but im going to 'punch post reply' and see if you receive. mike
    i
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,464
    VPS (Visual Positioning System) is a feature that the Standard doesn't have. I just put that in for completeness so it would make sense to anyone with a Pro or Advanced.

    D = the Phantom's distance from home
    Little man icon = distance from controller.
    For most flying these numbers will be almost the same but if you were to fly from a moving boat and you were no longer near where you launched, the numbers could be quite different.
     
  15. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,464
    If you have a Phantom with VPS operating, the distance to controller gets replaced with a VPS height display.
     
  16. North Texas Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    are you saying the the little man thing shows the distance between the phantom and the controller or the distance between the home and the controller? gosh im sorry
     
  17. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I see!

    Well, I think I see.

    Thanks
     
  18. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,464
    They are
    The little man is showing you the horizontal distance from the Phantom to the controller.
    Unless you go flying from a moving boat, a car or you walk some distance from where you started, you won't need to use this.