Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help with FPV setup for FC40

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Help' started by dragonash, Jun 17, 2014.

  1. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I wasnt getting any luck in the FPV forums, so I came here :)

    I know my FC40 runs on 5.8ghz, so I would need a 1.3 or 2.4 setup in order to get FPV.
    I would like to use my GoPro as my camera. So I asked at readymaderc and they got back to me with this list... which seems overly complicated.

    I just got this email back from the guys at readymaderc.

    I know nothing about this, but this seems overly complicated for what I want


    Can someone help me with a proper setup?
    Cheap goggles (dont care if boscam or fatshark), video transmitter, batteries, cables, etc etc
     
    korkster likes this.
  2. nintendrone64

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA

    Probably not going to happen with an FC-40. Sorry, brotha. Time to upgrade.
     
  3. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    care to back that up with ...i dont know...logical reasoning?

    That is, if you know why it probably wont happen.

    Btw, fixed the links
     
  4. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    Your 5.8 Ghz is limited to LOS range, for a start ;)
     
  5. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    But that doesn't mean I cant have FPV. Especially with 1.3 and 2.4 frequencies available :)
    Also, I'm not looking to do long range flying. The reason to have my gopro be my main cam is to line up shots. And the gopro wifi sucks so bad with distance and lag - not to mention battery drain
     
  6. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hey dragonash,

    Did this issue ever get resolved?

    FPV on a FC40 is possible.
     
  7. wchughes5

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was also looking to get some sort of system going that would allow me to use my Gopro video feed and insert telemetry information from the iosd (or any telemetry system in conjuction with the NAZA). I have a wifi repeater that lets me get the wifi feed from a good distance, so keeping a wifi video transmission would be ideal, but I haven't been able to find any solution to allow this. Any advice on this, or transmitting the Gopro feed via a 2.4g signal would be great!
     
  8. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Most fpv stuff is going to be in 5.8ghz so you would more then likely have to swap your remote and the phantoms receiver to be a 2.5ghz flight control and then use 5.8ghz FPV equipment.

    Tho IM not so sure about why any one would say that you can only get line of site from 5.6ghz being a limiting factor of any thing being the 5.8ghz control range of over 800 meters and some peoples stock range is even farther then that and thats way past line of site. and if you swapped the controls to 2.4ghz to be able to use standard 5.8g fpv equipment theres lots of fpv transmitters that will get some one way past line of site range. Unless they mean los as in there cant be any thing in between you and the phantom that will block the signal. instead of just meaning just as far as you can see the phantom witch is only about 300 yards give or take some depending on how good someones eyes are.
     
  9. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did you ever manage to do it ?
     
  10. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    I'm doing it right now with a BOSCAM 2.4 ghz telemetry, OSD, and SJCAM. YOU need the cable, but I would recommend running a separate camera for FPV and using the gopro/SJCAM for recording video.
     
  11. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    How to setup your first FPV.