Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Help with ESC error

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by hrosee, May 23, 2015.

  1. hrosee

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got a P3P to keep my P2 company.

    It flew fine. Yesterday I updated to the new software. Log file says I got a good update. Now when I try to start it up I get:

    ESC status error, turn off the aircraft
    & restart it again. Contact DJI support if error persists.


    Does anyone know how to fix this? I googled it and saw people with the inspire 1 that had this message but not any P3 users. I am thinking this thing is toast after just 1 flight.

    Thanks for any help.
     
    #1 hrosee, May 23, 2015
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Try an IMU calibration. Doubt it'll work if its a true error, but maybe it'll reset a fake error. Gl
     
  3. Ttito9

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's the same thing that happen to me this morning after I update to 1.1.9 so what worked for me was I calibrated then after that shut both down starting with the phantom first then controler then started the control and waited it's been working fine ever since hope this works for you
    GOOD LUCK
     
    isopro likes this.
  4. hrosee

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0

    When you say calibrated, are you talking about just the RC calibration of the sticks?? As soon as I get back home I am going to try that but wanted to understand what exactly you calibrated.

    Thanks
     
  5. hrosee

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0

    I did the RC (transmitter sticks) recalibration and nothing has changed. I even relinked the transmitter and then re-calibrated and still a no go.

    Anybody else have any ideas?
     
  6. hrosee

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess what. I did the compass calibration and now the message went away and it starts up fine. Did my first flight. Weird but working.
     
  7. steveo66

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine did the same thing..P3 ADV..looking a fix myself
     
  8. steveo66

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I recalibrated the controller as well and then it seemed to work fine ubtil I shut the unit down and then came back...very hit and miss with more on the miss side...worked a couple of times and the esc error keeps coming back...seems like a software glitch to me.
     
  9. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    check the motors and make sure there is no debris or restrictions keeping one of them from turning.-- Make sure that all spin freely. Small screws or small pieces of metal caught in the magnets of a motor will cause an esc error.