Help with 107 - Elevation

Reaction score
Folks, I am studying for my 107 test with materials that are available online. I am having some trouble with reading elevations. Here is a sample question from the 3DR site. I know the answer simply by memorization but I don't know how to "read" how they got there :)

Here it is as their very first question: LINK

Many thanks ahead of time.
Shep

Last edited:
Shep I'm afraid we may not all see the same questions as you are seeing. I think the site "randomizes" the questions and none on the ones on the page when I went there made any sense compared to your request.

Sorry :)

Shep I'm afraid we may not all see the same questions as you are seeing. I think the site "randomizes" the questions and none on the ones on the page when I went there made any sense compared to your request.

Sorry :)

Thanks for the heads up! Let me try this again a little different way:

I will post a screen shot of the question AND the map.

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 1.27.27 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 1.27.59 PM.png

Look at the airports near point 1 and along the path to point 2. Their elevating range from 1860 to 2248 and back to 2065 ft msl. I would go with the first choice.

Reactions: BigAl07
The answer is - 2,000 feet to 2,500 feet MSL - I just don't know how they are getting that answer.........HELP :)

Last edited:
I'm pretty sure that map has a legend that shows the color of the various elevations. Look in the upper corner on the original map.

If you are talking about this (attached) it doesn't really narrow that answer down.
Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 6.01.20 PM.png

Look at the airports near point 1 and along the path to point 2. Their elevating range from 1860 to 2248 and back to 2065 ft msl. I would go with the first choice.
F
I'm pretty sure that map has a legend that shows the color of the various elevations. Look in the upper corner on the original map.