Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help! Swapped H3-2D to H3-3D Now No Video!

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by DesertFlyer53, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    Hi folks, hope someone can help me out here. I've been flying my P2 for around 7 months now with GoPro Hero 3+ and H3-2D Gimbal. No issues at all! Finally upgraded to the H3-3D yesterday. I did the Mod where you remove the GoPro camera connector from the removed 2D and swap it out with the crappy ribbon connector on the 3D. All went will however now I have no camera video. The miniOSD overlay is coming through to my FPV screen but no video from the camera. Also, the little red charging light on the GoPro is not coming on either. The Gimbal itself works great! I checked and re-checked every wire and can find nothing wrong. Could I have received a bad H3-3D? I bought it from B&H. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I think you'll need to take the H3-2D port back off and reconnect the H3-3D's stock ribbon cable to the USB port, to determine if the problem is the gimbal or some issue with the mod.
     
  3. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    Sounds like a plan. I will do that tonight. Thanks!
     
  4. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    That did it! Now it works! Now... I just need to find a used H3-2D so I can rob the GoPro plug off it! I'm not a fan of the 3D ribbon cable!
     
  5. seebold11

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a new Phantom 2 w/ Zenmuse H3-3D/ Fat Shark Predator /RC 600mW transmitter and no video from go pro gimbal. Plug cheap camera that came with transmitter works fine. Any suggestions?
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Try what I suggest in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=21086&p=192563