Help - Purchasing FPV TX and Gimbal

Reaction score
Yes, I'm a newbie still.

It's mind boggling almost seeing so many products on eBay for selecting a TX and gimbals. Wide range of prices.

I'm looking at the attached TX. Any input is appreciated. What does the "600mW" mean? Does it have to do with distance that the unit can transmit via LOS? I had just purchased a Lilliput FPV monitor that has a built in RX (5.8 GHz). So, I shouldn't need a separate RX - I hope!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/251295000187?ss ... 1423.l2649

As far as inexpensive gimbals, relatively speaking, there are so many on eBay. Do most of them come with plug & play wires? The dang customer supports don't speak much English to answer properly as they don't understand the questions very well!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/360735279790?ss ... 1423.l2649

Thanks a bunch!

I run the 600mw immersionRC vtx with upgraded high gain cloverleaf antennae (IBcrazy blue beam) with Fat shark Dominator goggles. With this setup I can get over 1km of noise free video if flown in the right area's. mw = milli watt, the higher the number the greater the range. I am looking into getting the boscam dual 5.8 monitor for hopefully more range.

To be honest on a Phantom 600mw is real overkill. I get 1.3km clear video from the stock 250mw Fatshark TX and home made cloverleaf antenna (they are the real key to it). With a helical antenna you will get like 5+ miles at 600mw (much more if tuned correctly). Don't take my word on this... watch this:

Ibcrazy is regarded as 'the man' for FPV... he designed the cloverleaf (iirc) and shows in this vid that mw is not everything when talking distance.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNJzDeYqCSM[/youtube]