Help please - gimbal stutter

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I flew my P3 today for the first time today. Bright sunshine and calm (unusual for here!). The P3 flew perfectly and keen to see the quality of the camera I set it on the maximum 4k setting. I took it back home an looked at the video. It was quite disappointing and had not quite jello, but a noticeable shimmer. I think 4k was too much for my computer, which is fairly new and I thought up to the job.

Anyway, I charged up the lipo and set of again. This time I recorded at 1080p 48. There was a slight breeze. I took the P3 home and played back the video. The image quality was excellent, but every two or three seconds there was a definite shudder as if the camera was shaken. It was not jello or the computer (I have a P2 Vision plus)

Any advice would be appreciated. I am sure I have missed something, but wonder if I have a faulty gimbal. I have removed the foam packing, taken the plastic lens protector off and checked the gimbal rubbers etc.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Iain

Thanks for that. I checked the balance of the props before flying and they seemed ok. There appears to be a definite pause when things are fine and then the whole image will shudder, settle and then about a few seconds later it does it again. I have been thinking about it and wonder if my sd card might be the problem. I used a Sandisk extreme 64gb class 10. I will try the original card that came with the P3. The shudder can also be seen playing back from the machine to my iPad. Iain

Thanks, where I live, we have 512k broadband, which is iffy at the best! I would love to be able to post it.
I have found that recording in 4K has made me question the value of the P3P as the PC has to be really fast and you cant put it on the TV unless you have a 4K one. You certainly cant play the files direct from the Micro SD card!
I will probably have to use one of the 1080 settings - maybe I should have got the advance version?