Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help my FPV setup please!

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by JesterR1, Jun 7, 2014.

  1. JesterR1

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Details:
    Boscam TS-353
    Gopro Hero 3 Silver
    Diversity RX LCD5802 - mounted on Phantom transmitter
    stock antennas.

    I'm trying a very basic setup in the house to confirm I have signal. Somethings not right. I cannot get any type of picture.

    For the GOPRO hookup, I removed the red green and white cables from the connector like I've see/been told to do. Then connected ylw/ylw and blk/blk for the gopro cable. powered up using the phantom battery (have a whip extension)

    The TX powers up, gets warm after a while.

    What step am I missing? My gopro battery was low so I am attempting to fully charge that, but I'm not sure that would have the effect. Ive tried this both with the phantom tx on and off, still no change. Right now I have the Boscam TX set to CH4(1&2 white toggles up)and the RX set to receive on C-4

    If I power the setup down while leaving the screen on it goes from black to static. So does this mean my gopro or gorpo cable is bad? Can I check this in any manner?
     
  2. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Sorry if you hav done this but have you checked your video receiver is on the same frequency as the Vtx?
     
  3. JesterR1

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, manually searched through and also had it automatically searched. Tried again with the rx removed from the phantom rx and it had no effect, still don't have a picture.
     
  4. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Forgive the stupid question but did you connect it all up at any point with the antenna not installed?
     
  5. JesterR1

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, stock antenna is attached and always has been. To both the TX and the RX.

    On the TS353, which way should the switches be to correspond to the CH designation. I'm assuming where is shows white is the location the switch should.

    So for CH 4 I have 1&2 up and 3 &4 down. Receiver set to diversity CH C-4...black screen.
     
  6. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    The black areas in the switch diagram are the switch position not the white(according to uncle google). Hope this helps some
     
  7. JesterR1

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ozzy, it helps some. So assuming the BOSCAM equipment is working, it is either my gopro mini usb cable or the USB connection of the GoPRO itself.

    Will try the gopro in another friends FPV setup.

    WIll report back once I do figure this out.
     
  8. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    hey Jester. If you're not scared of a few solders, you shouldn't need any additional cables for the gopro at all. Do you have an iOSD Mini? this guide is quite useful for understanding how to wire up the FPV stuff internally.

    I'm not sure if the gopro's USB output even works while it's in a dock/gimbal since it's outputting through the port on the back of the gopro, the part that attaches to the gimbal. You can tap into that video signal internally, as indicated in the video. basically you need the video signal and it's ground. those will correspond to the video and ground connections going in to the TS-353. you can remove all the other cables, just make sure you get the right ones!
     
  9. JesterR1

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a friend try my GoPro in his setup, and no dice. Apparently the USB/video out on my gopro is no good. Maybe from the crash? I don't know. Anyone know when the GOPRO4 comes out?? :roll:
     
  10. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.