Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help Linking remote to DJI Go App

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by MachineSMMC, May 22, 2016.

  1. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good afternoon

    I need some assistance getting my remote to connect to the Go app. I did have a crah about a month ago, but have gotten everything fixed as far as I can tell. Ever since the crash I have had no luck getting the remote to connect to the app. I can fly the aircraft manually but have no connection to the app. I have tried everything I could find in the forum and through a google search with no luck.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    Try a different device. Same thing happened to me after an update and now I can only use vertical studio on that tablet. Go will not display a video feed. Called DJI and they said the last update has issues with some chipsets.

    Works fine on my phone though.
     
  3. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Henick, I tried a different device and had the exact same results as before. I am open to any other ideas.

    Thanks
     
  4. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    I'd be checking the ribbon cable on the camera then. It's easy to damage and comes off easily after a crash. Google a video.
     
  5. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I replaced that also with a brand new cable, I will double check it when I get home but I think it is fine.

    Thanks for the continued help.
     
  6. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    So your device see's the WiFi from the remote and connects to it? But the app doesn't?
     
  7. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is correct. Not sure what I am missing or doing wrong.
     
  8. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    OK, so your device is connecting to the remote. Your remote is not connecting to the phantom, try re-linking remote and phantom, I understand the WiFi comes from the plate of the gimbal and or the camera, that would point back to the ribbon wire area.
     
  9. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the remote is connected to the phantom, I have full flight control. I can turn the motors on, and the throttle up and down just like I would expect them to. It just does not connect to the device.
     
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Is the remote control light green, red, or flashing?
    This is what I think, you are not receiving signal back for Phantom.
    Lost signal (but not really)
     
  11. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The light on the remote is red. I will review the link you sent.

    Thanks!
     
  12. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    Sorry I thought you'd said it was paired. (You had control) That light should be green. I am not sure why it would work at all if it is red. First try to re-pair in the go app.

    If that doesn't work force it by powering up the drone then clicking the 2nd button on the VPS module. The light starts blinking. Then hold c1+c2+play+right shoulder click wheel then power on the rc to force pair.

    Then try again.

    If that doesn't work you can try to downgrade/upgrade the rc firmware and try again.

    If that doesn't work you send both the bird and rc to DJI for repair and they can test it before it leaves.
     
  13. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Henick, what buttons are "c1+c2+play+right shoulder click wheel". My RC does not have a play button or a right shoulder click wheel either. (I don't have it in front of me now but I am pretty sure it does not have them). It is a P3 standard remote.

    I have tried pairing it many times with no luck but I will give this a try one I know what buttons you are specifically talking about.
     
  14. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
  15. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    This doesn't sound like instructions for a Standard?
     
  16. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    So does everything go as the list?
    I don't know what happens when it fails.

    #6 The remote power light will be red, when linked it will turn green, then a few seconds later the light on the Phantom will go to solid green.

    Remote stays red, Phantom stops blinking and then goes solid red?
     
  18. MachineSMMC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it just keeps beeping and never turns to green, just stays a constant red. I let it go for about five minutes.
     
  19. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Thanks, that is what I needed for my notes, looks like Jerry never said what he did.

    Added:
    He hasn't been on since the May 14th.
     
    #19 RodPad, May 23, 2016
    Last edited: May 23, 2016
  20. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    Yeah sorry again I assumed the adv/pro force pair. Standard is here
    Phantom 3 Standard-Remote Controller - DJI Wiki

    Turn on the aircraft and press the Link Button. The button will blink red when the aircraft is ready to link.
    2. Switch on the remote controller, turn the gimbal dial to the far left, and toggle the S2 switch back and forth quickly for at least three times. You will hear a pulsating beep sound when the remote controller is trying to link to the aircraft.
    3. The remote controller will stop beeping and the Link Button on the aircraft will turn solid green if linking is successful.

    Quick comment because you seem to have tried this already... make sure your bird is ready to pair by following the order above closely else the remote will keep blinking like you are experiencing.

    Other than that you can try downgrading and linking again but call DJI and they can walk you through it because if it doesn't work you need to send it away and they'll make you do that on the phone with them before sending the RMA auth anyway.

    If you're in warranty that is.

    Edit: one more thing also... I guess with 1.8 some standard users are saying reinstall the go app then try to pair again and have been successful. Try that.
     
    #20 henick, May 24, 2016
    Last edited: May 24, 2016