Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help from Brazil

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by laca, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. laca

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
    Hi,

    I bought a DJI Phantom 2 at Miami and it was working fine there.
    I took it to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil where I live, and now I can not calibrate the compass.
    I've seen several videos on the internet of people with the same problem.
    I tried to demagnetize the compass with a magnet without success.
    To make matters worse now while trying to calibrate module (moving the S1 key more than 5 times) the non-fixed yellow light as before. The yellow lights is always blinking.
    I do not know if the problem is on the compass, on the S1 switch of control or anything else...
    Please, let me know if anyone could help me.

    Regards,
    Luiz
     
  2. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you remember to leave S1 in the "up" position when finished flicking?
     
  3. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    Are you trying to calibrate away from all possible interference. I placed mine on a wooden table the other day, booted up all fine. Second flight I got a compass calibration warning. Moved it 6 inches to the left on the table and everything back to normal.
     
  4. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Plug the Phantom into the Assistant software. See if your controller is able to move the controls. Check if S1 changes the mode as it should in the bottom left corner. If you haven't done the upgrades yet, I would suggest skipping them until you can rule out other issues. If the controller is working and calibrated and you can put it into GPS mode, then you can focus in the compass. What is the mod value for the compass?
     
  5. laca

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
    Yes, Madwak.
    Each time I tried, I left the S1 at the up position.
    Thanks,
     
  6. laca

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
    Thank you, Shrimpfarmer,

    The problem is that the yellow light that indicates the start process of calibrating don't stop blinking..

    Regards,
     
  7. laca

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
    Thank you, ianwood.

    I am at the office right now. At home, I am gonna try your tips and I will come back with news.

    Regards,