Help choosing fpv system

dvc

Reaction score
I've read many posts concerning which fpv system would work the best for my Phantom 2 with Zenmuse H3-3D gimbal, and GoPro Hero 3+black. I'm not into soldering and am looking for more of a plug a play. Cost I'm hoping would be somewhere between $300-$400. One member recommended the following:

1. DJI AVL-58
2. iOSD mini
3. DJI FPV Hub
4. Boscam 5802 Rx Monitor
5. Fatshark Spironet Antenna (Or u can use the matching DJI Cloverleafs)

I've read good reviews of the Boscam 5802 Rx Monitor. Is there way to mount the monitor to my Phantom controller?

What do you think of this setup? What would you recommend? Also,is there one place you would recommend, where I could order everything, maybe even a package deal. Is there anyone from Michigan that has knowledge of fpv systems? I've never done anything with RC before, so the simpler the setup the better.

Thanks,
Donn

There is a guy in these forums that has specifically made a monitor mount to fit the Phantom 2 transmitter for FPV I would suggest buying that over the cheaper mounts, I have one of the cheaper mounts and it sucks my monitor always flops over and it is a real pain. As for your setup I would also suggest getting a helical antenna which will greatly increase your range of your fpv system. You can buy a nice 5 turn helical antenna from readymaderc.com for about $30 USD. You do not need the AVL-58 with the monitor you have listed because it has a built in diversity receiver so all you would need is a transmitter . Instead of getting the AVL-58 I would get a Immersion RC 600mw or a Fat Shark 250mw transmitter.

That seems like a reasonable package but you would still have to buy antennas. I would suggest buying everything separately to get the best set up and max range. You can get a good set up that will get you multi km range for under $400.

Here is what I suggest

Monitor- Black Pearl Diversity Monitor or the Boscam Diversity-