Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help buying components for vid Editing .

Discussion in 'Editing (Photo and Video)' started by tritontr21, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. tritontr21

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Building a desktop.

    My mid 2009 mac book pro doesn't cut it.

    Neither does my current windows PC machine.

    What PC desktop components I have extra to use if I wanted too are the following:

    GPU - Nvidia GTX550 Ti
    500w SPU
    Case
    Random HDDS
    Monitors
    Etc

    What processor should i use? And also suggest a Mobo.

    Gaming isn't a concern. I'll use this for video editing and daily.

    I also have a possibly good Intel i5 2500k that still should be functional from my son's old rig. Just no mobo (which we believe to be fried.

    Really just looking for an economical mobo/CPU Combo. Mostly editing video and photos from my P2V+

    Thanks for any help you can provide.

    Not looking to break the bank.
     
  2. tritontr21

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    How's this combo look?
     
  3. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Re: Help buying components for vid Editing .

    I can't comment on the parts but I can tell you that my Macbook Retina i7 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Intel 650M does a wonderful job.
    Before this I had a Core2 Duo 1.83 IBM and a 3 minute video took 90 minutes to export. Now I'm down to like 3-4 minutes for the same export.
     
  4. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    Re: Help buying components for vid Editing .

    Might ask over at PCMECH forum.
    Just tell them your budget and what tasks you want your computer to do.
    They only recommend time tested quality parts.
    Then they'll help you if you have any problems.
    http://forum.pcmech.com/

    This is the one I am going to build for my Phantom running PIX4D, AutoCAD and video editing. I was thinking of a higher end build, but this one has power and value. Go here: http://forum.pcmech.com/showthread.php?t=233468 for embedded product links for the quoted post below, (it's not my thread)

     
  5. gword256

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Springfield, USA
    Re: Help buying components for vid Editing .

    Have you just tried adding a second HDD to either of your current setups? Even editing from a USB HDD (*USB 3.0) (maybe even thumb drive) will spread the read/writes and speed things up noticeably. Note: Two partitions is not equal to two hard drives.
     
  6. tritontr21

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Added more Ram and a SSD to my mac. Still slow and terrible.


    The desktop is an old dual core. Doesn't cut it.
     
  7. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Re: Help buying components for vid Editing .

    Iirc, you should check if your editing software uses OpenGL or CPU for export/compression. I would personally prefer a quad core i7 over a really expensive graphics card.
    If you are ok with the performance I posted above, try comparing your setup against mine. But it seems like your situation is like mine, coming from 5-6 year old hardware, so basically anything with today's standard specs will blow your mind when compared to what you're used to. I didn't necessarily need to export that fast, even 20mins vs. 90mins would've been a huge leap for me.
     
  8. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    Re: Help buying components for vid Editing .

    I run Adobe Photoshop CS6 on my MSI Apache laptop. This has an i7 processor (2.5GHz I think) 16Gb ram, NVidia GTX850M and single 500Gb SSD.

    This will edit in HD without issue, with better than realtime renders for a couple of streams and a few effects.

    You need to "hack" (Change the text file!) Premiere to use the grpahics card, as it's not on the approved list for Mercury rendering, but it is very reliable. As a trial, I tried to render 62 streams in one go. This was 62 Pips from nested timelines. It breezed through a 4 minutes clip in under an hour with no errors, so I am quite happy with that!

    Off-loading the rendering to the graphics processor is 4x quicker on my machine, so worth checking your chosen hardware and software supports this.