Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help ASAP please! Phantom 3 heading in relation to North (Azimuth reading)

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by raydengt2000, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have a project with FAA, and one of their requirement is to get the azimuth reading of the phantom's heading in-relation to North. Also is it possible to have this display this reading on each pictures I take?

    Thank you
     
  2. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone? Maybe at least the closest way to achieve this?
     
  3. BVC

    BVC

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA / Dener, CO
    It is possible. I've seen it before.. I'm unsure how to get it however.

    And what project do you speak of?
     
    raydengt2000 likes this.
  4. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    155
    DashCam Viewer does it.

    T
     
  5. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you T (Sagebrush), I'll look into it. BVC, I don't know the details of the project, but they want me to take pictures at certain coordinates, altitude and a 360 pictures with heading information.
     
  6. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    155
    Woooo... don't thank me yet, Dashcam Video will only do videos. However, you could stop the video in the app and grab a screenshot when it's in the location and heading.

    T
     
  7. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hehe, no I have to thank you for this, this software is awesome. I was hoping it would give me degrees information or in numbers in relation to the north (I wonder if this will be on the SRT file?), but this will do for now. :)
     
  8. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now my question is, can I click the photo button to take pictures while the video record button is on?
     
  9. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    155
    It's a great app, that's for **** sure.

    T
     
  10. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,136
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Set the captions on and see if it gets you what you need.
     
  11. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    155
    I don't think so. I think you have to stop the video first.
    T
     
  12. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Stupid question. Why can't you put the cam in 4K use the app.. Take screen grabs of the 4K video. Should be very good quality.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because 12megapixel picture is a lot better quality than grabing a frame in 4K. Not to mention it has RAW capability.
     
    #13 raydengt2000, Jan 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2016
  14. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    155
    Keep in mind that the GPS detects the heading, not the direction the aircraft is facing. However, in the Litchi app, you can set the heading and take pictures at preset waypoints. You'll have to correlate the finger-set waypoints on your Letchi's aerial-photo map with coordinates somehow.

    T
     
  15. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that's good to know. I hope it's not the case for the dashcam reviewer, because we're just launching at a specific coordinate vertically & just panning 360 degrees. Thanks Sage.
     
  16. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sage you are right, it doesn't know where the front is, whatever direction the quad is going whether it's left right or back it thinks that's the heading. Bummer, this wont work. :-(
     
  17. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    In my flytrex log, there is a data column called "compass_heading(degrees)" which I believe is supposed to give the direction the craft is pointing in degrees, regardless of the direction it's moving. It works great if I'm pointing North. For example, if I'm heading exactly north and pointing exactly north, heading is around 360. If I go backwards and head south pointing north, heading is around 360. It's very accurate. But for some reason, if I rotate around and I'm pointing south heading south, it tends to show a 30 degree tilt to the right. In other words, it shows around 210 where it should say 180. I haven't figured out why. You might think I have a bad compass calibration, but the triangle on my FPV screen shows my craft is pointing perfectly south - which it is.

    The other problem is, I don't think P3's are completely compatible with the flytrex device.
     
  18. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    155
    Try it with Litchi using a Point of Interest set at the heading you want to photograph (you might have to work out this spot on Google Earth and then extrapolate it to the app).

    Let me know how you end up pulling this task off.

    T
     
  19. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I agree - it seems Litchi is the way to go.

    It would be helpful if you knew exactly what they wanted. Do they want four pics going around? Eight? Sixteen? It would be a lot simpler if the info you needed would be displayed on the FPV screen as you shoot, but I don't think a P3 does that. Litch doesn't. Maybe some other drone does? I don't know. Let's say you're forced to use a P3.

    Here's an idea. Maybe not a good one.

    Make precise waypoints missions in advance using the flylitchi site and download them to your device. The flylitchi site shows the GPS coordinates for your waypoints, so you can fairly easily find the exact spot you need that way.

    To get your first photo, you could set three way points at the required altitude in line with one of the required GPS coordinates. Let's say the first photo will be a 360 degree photo showing due North. So the first line would be S-N. As your waypoints increased from 1 to 2 to 3 the first GPS number in the coordinates shown would decrease as it moves north but the second number in the coordinates would stay roughly the same). The middle waypoint would be the exact coordinate that the photo requires. As the aircraft approaches and pauses at the 2nd (exact) coordinate, you plan to snap your photo(s). The aircraft will continue to move a bit, and the directional heading might change a bit as the software pulls the aircraft back, but you know the nose heading is exactly what it was just prior to arriving at the 2nd way point. The nose heading will be perfect.

    Repeat for all the other required photos. N-S will give you the 180 photo. E-W will give you the 270 photo. W-E will give you the 90 photo. Etc.

    Now go to the field and let it fly. Take your photos.

    When you're finally done, look at your Litchi log to get all the info you need and manually overlay it onto each photo. The Litchi log would include GPS coordinates, altitude, and the directional heading info which you will use as the required nose heading.

    The process will be a PITA no doubt.
     
  20. raydengt2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, thank you for all your ideas and help, I really appreciate it. Sage & Mark, I'll try your ideas if dashware doesn't work. I know DJI has the accurate heading information because the radar on the bottom left is very accurate, and the flight records have all the information as well. After researching last night, I can tell you that it's not on .DAT & not on the .SRT(Used by dashcam) files, but it's on the Flight records .TXT file. I can then use this record to overlay it using the dashware.net. Dashware.net has a lot of gauges that you can use, pretty awesome stuffs. See video below, I'll give more feedback once I install the software on a Windows PC, which I don't have.

    How-to
     
    #20 raydengt2000, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016