Hello

Reaction score
Hi guy's, just thought I would introduce myself.

I am a total noob when it comes to flying of any sort, literally not done any! I have been in RC for probably 10 > 12 years but all ground stuff. 1/10 nitro and 1/5 two stroke petrol cars and boats.

I thought it was time for me to get off the ground so to speak and I will be picking up a Phantom FC40 tonight. It's not new but apparently has never been flown. The current owner is an enthusiast and has done all the build and set up but never flown it. He decided to sell it unflown.

I am a big believer in joining forum communities for all my hobbies as the wealth of knowledge, particularly for beginners is excellent.

So i guess I will be asking lots of questions going forward and hope that you guy's will be considerate and patient towards a newbie ;-)

Any first timer advice would be appreciated and also any standard upgrades that are common for these quads.

Many thanks,

Ste

Welcome ,
I also jumped into this hobby having not flown anything but a paper airplane.
I did a lot of research before deciding on the FC40. I like the option of being able to upgrade it the way I want to at an affordable price. My wife wanted to get me a Vision + ready to go, but that's too boaring for me. The first thing I did was crack it open to see what was inside. Well actually after a rescue from a tree and a few crashes... :eek:
After I learned to fly without crashing so much I added a Walkera 2d gimbal and a GOPRO clone SJ4000.

I now have a mini Osd with pmu ,and a 1.2 ghz Fpv . For me the on screen display is a must have.
Another good mod is the Mulitstar 4000mah battery upgrade. For extended flight time.

This morning I am starting a DJI F450 quad build.....

Wayne