Hello! Looking for advice...

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

So here is the scenario: I am in the market for a drone, and I'm trying to decide if the Phantom 4 or the Phantom 4 Pro would be a better option for me.
I have also considered the Mavic, but I hear it doesn't handle as well with wind and the durability seams like a possible issue (more so than the phantoms).
I have been flying smaller quadcopter for a few years. (I have a Blade Nano QX, Hubsan X4, a Cheerson CX10, and a JJRC H8C). I'm ready to take the next step up, and make a phantom my first "big boy" quad.
I am interested in getting into photography and have been reading through the Part 107 material in hopes of one day using my drone commercially. For this reason I'm leaning toward the P4P.
On the other hand, I have a wife and two young kids so I know that all of this sounds good on paper, but the reality is I never have as much time as I would like. For that reason I'm considering the P4, to use as a cheaper training tool. Then one day when my kids are bit older, I can devote more time and maybe upgrade to a newer model.
With all of that said, what do guys (and gals) think? Maybe those of you with experience can help me shed some light.
Thank you!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

I have a wife and two young kids so I know that all of this sounds good on paper, but the reality is I never have as much time as I would like. For that reason I'm considering the P4, to use as a cheaper training tool.
I'd personally buy the P4 if I was in your shoes. There's no sense in getting a camera with features that you'll likely never need. The camera on the P4 is still a great camera for hobbyists. If you decide to start a business, you can upgrade later and write it off on your taxes.

Thanks msinger for your reply! This is kinda the way I was leaning, but sometimes it's hard to look past all the fancy "features" of the latest and greatest! I'll admit I sometimes tend to want more than I need...