Hello from Colorado

Reaction score
I am a new member and am awaiting my Phantom 3 to arrive any day now. I have flown RC planes and helicopters in the past but it has been a while. I am also a commercial pilot with an A&P rating but again it has been a while.

From my Avatar you can see what my real love in life is and somehow ???? I am hoping to combine aerial video with the motorcycle riding.:eek:

I have been doing a lot of reading and am now scared of this thing before it even arrives. LOL:

Transmitter binding, IMU updating, P3P firmware updating, controller firmware updating, (all with several different methods to do so), tablet firmware updating, compass calibration, all sorts of issues on the new birds. I hope it goes smoothly. :)

Great forum you have here and I am off to read more horror stories :)

Marc

Last edited:
Reactions: clackey
Welcome aboard lomax! There's no doubt the Phantom has a few kinks but overall it a joy to fly. You're going to love it, I'm sure!

Reactions: lomax
Welcome. I agree, you will love it. The P3 is really astounding.

It's great that you are reading the forum. There is so much group knowledge here!

Reactions: lomax
Thank you both. In what order should everything be done when receiving the bird?

Should I set it up and make sure everything works right out of the box? Should I update all the firmware, calibrate IMU, and update everything I can before trying it the first time?

I would assume make sure everything functions normally right out of the box first. AFTER doing that update everything and make sure it still works. If not then send it to the marine department. :rolleyes:

It should be a great learning experience at any rate.

Marc