Hello all! Complete noob from West Virginia here!

Reaction score
So hopefully I don't get off on the wrong foot here with this first post, but I don't see another suitable section to put this in.

I've recently discovered these quad-copters with cameras (thank you, B&H catalog! LOL) and I think I might like to give this aerial photography thing a try. I've been reading over some of the threads here, and I'm currently reading over that guide by Fantomas. One tip I'm taking immediately to heart is buying one of those little Nano 3D quads to get an idea of what flying these gizmos is like. :) My cats will loathe me. But my end goal is to eventually get one of the Phantoms which leads me to my first question...

In layman terms, what is the big difference....or pros and cons, if you will...between the Phantom 2 and the Phantom 2 Vision +? If I am understanding what I've read thus far, the P2V+ is more of an "out of the box" solution, whereas the P2 is more ready for personal customization when it comes to your FPV display, what camera/gimbal to use? Is that accurate? If so, does going with the P2V+ really handicap someone? It looks like I give up a little range, and perhaps the use of a better camera/gimbal for the convenience of having it all "pre-assembled".

Anyway....I'll keep reading and try to make sense of it all. Thanks for any input you care to share!

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you have a better time with your small quad than I did with mine. it was a bummer to fly. I would save the money for maybe batteries or upgrade antennas for what ever "P" you decide on.

I just went recently what you're going through. I did fly those small cheap quads and they're tons of fun and great for learning how to fly. I was set on buying P2V+ but after so much research I've decided to go for the H3-3D setup even though it does does cost a bit more.
My reasons for going with H3-3D setup: