Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Height Restriction of 500m

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by paulsheaves, May 5, 2015.

  1. paulsheaves

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    In countries where there are no laws about heights of flying drones is it possible to change the 500m restriction somehow?

    - I dont live in the UK or the States (currently live in Dubai) and as the law stands I could fly the drone higher than 500m and not be breaking the law (if I was allowed to by DJI).

    Is it impossible to do this?
     
  2. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    So far that seems to be the case, maybe someone might be able to crack it.
     
  3. gingerbloke

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    Launch from a high point (one of those funky 7 star hotels should do it!)?
     
    bbfpv and Mal_PV2_Ireland like this.
  4. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    Mate, Just because there is no law, doesn't make it okay. or sensible does it?
    What if you do get in the way of an aircraft?
     
  5. paulsheaves

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    I personally don't think there's anything stupid about going over 500m, as long as you are safe and do it in a safe environment... - I don't live near the airport or planes, and the 500m limit unfortunately means that I cannot go above some of the really cool buildings here in Dubai.

    Nor can I go above 500m in the middle of nowhere (like the desert here for example) where there is literally nothing around and would get some great scenic footage - what's wrong with that?
     
  6. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    <sigh>
     
  7. paulsheaves

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sigh as in agree?!
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,442
    Yes
     
  9. paulsheaves

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's a real shame :-(

    It is the equivalent of having a Ferrari in my opinion - in the UK your Ferrari is restricted to 70mph (no problem, its the law), but on the Autobahn in Germany, in some areas there are no speed limits and you can drive your ferrari how you please.

    For me in Dubai, there are no restrictions at the moment, yet I have to abide by the guidelines of other countries, seems strange to me why this can be manually changed, or, the software/firmware can't be country specific :-(
     
  10. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    No mate, but wishing you many blue skies up there in Dubai.
     
  11. paulsheaves

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Cool...

    I guess in theory i could still fly it high by taking off from a high point. But thats a grey area for sure, and certainly in the desert thats hard as there aren't many rocks to climb... lets see!
     
  12. KillerCut

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    33
    Tie a bunch of balloons to the phantom, send it up, set new home point, release balloons. Wooooooohoooooo
     
  13. Hovtech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    151
    How about some desert videos?
     
  14. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, take off from the top of this
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248
    All of you altitude nazis are hilarious. If the height was a SERIOUS issue these would come from the factory with the 400ft restriction already and not allow it to hr changed AT ALL.
     
  16. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    I've seen videos of guys getting busted for flying Phantoms up the height of that building and around Dubai so be careful.
     
  17. Buzz313th

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    103
    The height restriction on the P3 isn't there for the 400' advisory, it's there to keep you out of Controlled Airspace in the US called Class Echo, that starts in some places at 700 agl, 1200 agl and 14500 agl..

    There is a law in the FAR's that prohibits an aircraft, any aircraft from entering Controlled airspace without certain types of equipment, certs and operating criteria.. Just FYI BTW.

    But personally you guys should just fly wherever you want...

    :p
     
    Julius717 likes this.
  18. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    How can you SSH to the bird? By USB?
    And can anyone confirm that this 'trick' actually works?
     
  19. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    The P3 makes no wireless network, so I doubt it.
     
  20. nikon.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    Okay, i will try it this week ;)