Heard you get only 30-40 flights with stock motors?

Reaction score
I've read a couple places that owners of Phantoms only get about 30-40 flights before the stock motors fail. Is this accurate?

I just bought a Phantom and have flown it about 6 times in the last two days. At this rate, I'll reach 30 in about two weeks. This quote sounds low to me, but I am still new to the hobby so I don't know much.

If this is true, can anyone recommend any aftermarket motors which have a long life?

Also, how can you tell if your motors/bearings are doing okay? I have pushed each prop gently by hand and I can fee it sort of jump from one point to another. However, one in particular jumps harder between points. Is this not right?

Does anyone regularly lube their bearings in these? Are you suppose too?

Thanks,

Jeff

I'm just guessing here but I must have flown my Phantom at least 100 times (and crashed about that many times, too!). One crash was into a river, which required flushing a motor with alcohol to remove very fine grit.

After that experience I drilled a hole beneath each motor in order to be able to access and lube the lower bearings -- and I bought TriFlow oil, pen sized, with a hypodermic-like applicator needle, as this avoids slopping extra oil over the motors.

Drilling the holes and lubing is described here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJixomwlVUs

I lube the motors about once a week. Also, I often touch each motor after landing, to see if any are running hot. So far, no problems at all -- and that slight ratcheting sensation you get when hand turning the prop is normal. But, if one is different, I'd lube it right away and be sure to test it for overheating.

You can bench test motors for odd noises, vibration and overheating by removing all of the props and running the Phantom on a table.

The idea that the motors will routinely wear out after 30-40 flight strikes me as ridiculous.