Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

HeadPlay Setup Not working. Any help?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by rhj12345, Oct 15, 2015.

  1. rhj12345

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Got my Headplay goggles today. All I have is a blue screen

    P3 Yes
    Tablet Yes
    Upgraded the controller Yes
    HDMI cable is correct size goes to goggles and controller Yes
    Cable from tablet to controller Yes
    Connected cable to the top of the goggles and inserted battery Yes
    I can see the setup screen Yes
    I can see HDMI in the upper right corner Yes
    I have a blue screen Yes
    P3 is on and I see the camera view in the tablet YES

    All I see is a blue screen on the Headplay.

    Any help? Thinking I have a bad controller board from DJI at least at the HDMI output.
     
  2. SIIimg

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    Did you select simultaneous output to hdmi in dji go app?
     
  3. PCMacDr

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    24
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    This

    or

    Bad HDMI Module output
     
  4. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,994
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Get the proper cable and plug your controller into your tv's hdmi to test the dji card. That will eliminate the headplay goggles.
     
  5. rhj12345

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    I looked for that, can you tell me where in the app the setting is located?
     
  6. SIIimg

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you have the hdmi plugged in, you will see the option right below output quality setting. I think you click on HD to get that screen
     
  7. rhj12345

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Can you reply with a go here then go here? I went through it all 3 times and can't find anything for output quality setting.
     
  8. jdawg39

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    by default if you module is working, it is set to display on both. If you dont see this option at all, then your module is not connected properly. I got my headplay yesterday and they worked right out of the gate. I may try the other lens that came with them as i heard it may be better. Its pretty easy and i had to order a mini hdmi adapter, as well as an hdmi to hdmi mini for the other side. I did not see where i could get a straight through hdmi mini cable, do they even make them?
     
  9. jdawg39

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    press the far right on top of the tablet, when all the options come up, press the HD button on the left and scroll the channel selection area and you will see the 2 different options for the output. They have it where you can set to display on both hdmi and tablet or phone, and they have it where you can have OSD or not, i kind of liked it with no OSD(on screen display)
     
  10. rhj12345

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    That helped. Not there for me. My gut feeling tells me to go back and take apart the controller board and re-install it.
     
  11. jdawg39

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    just be careful and make sure the 2 ribbon cables are in far enough. you should see the options in the dji go app right away.
     
  12. rhj12345

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Yep, I am going and looking at the install instructions and re-do it today.
     
  13. Luap

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    70
    I had same issue. Blue screen on HDMI.
    Finally realised the HDMI plug was not properly connected to the headplay Plug has to be horizontal into the headplay -mine was slightly skewed and appeared to be connected well but it wasn't.
    If you think yours is properly connected , try connecting the HSDMI cable to your TVs setupbox or whatever HDMI source you have. Headplay is actually quite amazing to watch TV:)
    If TV works and you still have no image when connecting to the P3 then follow this video to install the module.

    At the end of the video it states that you should hear a beep when pressing the C1+C2 switch which indicates module is properly installed.
    Hope this helps.
     
  14. jdawg39

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    oh i didnt do the beep, thankfully mine worked without much effort. Just was able to try out a little flying with the goggles and were very nice.

    wanted to add - my plug was the amazon basics mini hdmi to hdmi and the plug was kind of rectangle and was only able to fit on the headplay one way, meaning a perfect fit, slid right in, and i put the mini hdmi male to hdmi adapter side i put on the controller and good to go.
     
  15. rhj12345

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    I believe at this point my controller board at least at the HDMI side is bad. I took it apart and made sure the ribbon cables were good. Then connected everything to the TV. Still no signal.

    Time to connect DJI for a replacement???

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    rhj12345,
    What was your fix ??
    I have the same issue,
    Very frustrating.
     
  17. DieWolf

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello got same problem and a solution.
    USB ist fixed solidly on the board - whereas the hdmi is not. It is connected via a socket on the board to a plug on the backcover.
    So if the usb is working this means the board has been installed correctly esp. the ribbon-cables.
    So take out those four 1.5 mm hex screws.
    Then take the backcover off and start reassembling by first threading in the various connection ports and then pressing the backcover lid down making sure You get a solid seat
    of the hdmi plug into the corresponding socket on the board.
    Good luck !