head tracking camera mount for phantom

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to RC flying and just bought a phantom about 3 months ago.

I would like to get into FPV and use the head tracking ability that Fatshark goggles come with.

I seem to be running into a problem finding a suitable camera mount that is compatible with gopro and fatshark and of course the phantom.

Does anyone know of a good pan/tilt mount that holds a hero3 and is easy to setup on the phantom?

I guess I'm just a little confused on what the difference is between a gimbal mount and a pan/tilt. Can a gimbal mount be used with head tracking?

I found this mount which is suppose to be designed for the phantom and has two servos. Would this work?

http://phantomguide.com/wp-content/uplo ... void0.jpeg

gimbals are essentially the general name given to all the devices that tilt/pan/roll camera's.
there are a number available for the Phantom. both in Servo and Brushless motor form.

But here's the thing.. at the moment there's only 2-axis gimbals available - they to tilt and roll, not tilt and pan
and most people get them for stabilizing their camera (or manually being able to tilt the camera down in flight).

I have head tracking in my Fatsharks and thought about connecting it all up to my gimbal, didn't have much luck, it was too convoluted and difficult setting it up.
and have given up on the thought of doing so, as it's really just a novelty idea at best.

yes, that gimbal would theoretically work with a headtracker
you'd have to get another Transmitter as well tho (that can accept the signal from your fancier Tx)

my advice would be to give up on the notion and put your money towards a brushless gimbal, a new Transmitter (like a Futaba), and then just play around with head tracking if you have the spare time.

Gizmo3000 said:
gimbals are essentially the general name given to all the devices that tilt/pan/roll camera's.