Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    81
    Just updated my P4 to the latest fw and my controller to 1.6. When I'm using my headplay glasses over hdmi out, my fpv video in DJI go will cutout or go solid green with my drone close by. Is anyone else having fpv video issues in DJI go when using the hdmi module?
     
    #1 tonyt76, Apr 10, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  2. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    It's working fine with my Cinemizers. Video looks normal in the goggles and in the app.
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,661
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Do you see video on headplay? if not, then its HDMI link issue.
     
  4. Archer911

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    When I plug into an HDMI monitor the video cuts in and out on my iphone—green zones, blank segments of video. The image on the HDMI monitor, however, remains in tact. This was after the latest firmware update.
     
  5. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    81
    I'm having the same exact symptoms on my iphone6+ and my iPad Air 2. The hdmi video in my headplays looks perfect but the fpv video in the DJI go app has green zones and blank segments of video.
     
  6. Archer911

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    The box my adapter came with says Phantom 3, how about yours?
     
  7. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    81
    I ordered my DJI HDMI module from B&H Photo. I will look at the box when I get home. I thought it was the same part # for the P3 & P4?
     
  8. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    It is the same part.
     
  9. SteveThePhantom!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes, I agree it's the same part and I updated my P4 with that module, works fine but now I need to test it with my head play.
    Update you all tomorrow.

    Best regards,
    Steve
     
  10. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just received my headplay and flew with it the first time about 10 min ago. I'm having the same issues. Green bars appear and the video is choppy on ipad mini 4. Clear on headplay goggles at all times though. Seems like the further I get, the more stable it is, although still greenbared and choppy at some points. Never had a chance to try it with the old firmware.
     
  11. Fallguy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Right above you.
    Just curious , but is the HDMI port mod good for just FPV goggles, or can you hook up a HDMI monitor /TV ? And if so , are there limitations?
     
  12. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona

    You should be able to connect to any HDMI device, goggles/monitor/tv/dvr/etc.
     
  13. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Anyone know if there's a fix for this? It's happening every time a fly, the whole flight.
     
  14. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona

    Sadly there isn't a fix for it yet but there are somethings you can check,

    -check to ensure the HDMI module is installed correctly and the large ribbon cable is connected properly.
    -swap out your tablet cable to ensure this isn't the issue.

    As per DJI, they state they are aware of this issue and are working on a fix...I also hope they find one soon!
     
  15. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Is it only a problem when dual HDMI output is enabled, and/or in use, or does it happen even with that option disabled?
     
  16. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona

    This happens when you are using both the HDMI port and USB at the same time but only the USB device is affected. When I use my Fatshark goggles the iPad has signal issues and picture breakup...doesn't really affect the ability to fly and control your bird but is rather annoying.
     
  17. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    The reason for my question was that I recently experienced some intermittent video freezes on the iPad at close range - I had not seen that before. I had nothing plugged in to the HDMI output, but when I checked the settings I did have dual output enabled. I haven't had a chance to test again with that disabled.
     
    Cale262 likes this.
  18. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    I also haven't tried this with the new app revision...I'll play around with that tonight and see.
     
  19. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    SO

    I tried this tonight with the new APP rev and the same issue persists, I even grabbed the P3P and used the same equipment (FS Dominator HD v2 and iPad mini4), no issue with the P3P so I am going to confidently say that this is a P4 (hardware ?) issue only at least in my case.

     
  20. johnbowen

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'm having green lines etc on my iPad Air 2 after updating to the newest DJI go iOS app update. I have the hdmi/usb adapter also. I have hdmi out enabled within the app, but noted the green lines, etc even when operating without hdmi out connected simultaneously.

    I manually changed the wifi channel selection and the issue went away, albeit no longer allowing app select more quiet wifi channels automatically.
     
    Cale262 likes this.