Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Having Fun In The Flight Simulator!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by timmer, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Today I finally ventured into the flight simulator. My goal is to try and orbit around an object while keeping the camera steady on the object. In the simulator the object was myself, but I suspect in the real world the stick inputs would be the same on any object. It was a lot harder than I thought and will take a lot of practice to nail it.

    After a while I started flying around and decided to see how high I could go. At the 120 meter mark I got the "maximum altitude reached" warning as this is what I have set in the app. Hmm, I thought and went back in the app and set it to 500 meters.

    Sure enough, it rose to 1640 feet and I got the warning again. Testing this several times I noticed the ascent rate was 11 MPH and took 1:45 and the descent rate was 6.5 MPH and took 2:47. Trying RTH at max alt. took 3:12 due to it slowing down at the end. Will try this in the real world (but not so high) and see if the ascent/descent rates are similar. I know that prevailing winds will have an effect on this.

    I really wish I could switch views to the map so I could pretend that I was flying around my neighborhood.

    [​IMG]

    Cheers!

    Oh, and yes I did remember to reset my max altitude back to where it was.
     
  2. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Here are a few more screen shots of the simulator.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. CUBuffskier

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, I've not used that sim yet. I'm guessing you don't need to power on the phantom to use it correct?
     
  4. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    You do, and currently the simulator is only for IOS devices.
     
  5. Clampit

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    That's very cool, I'll have to try the flight simulator on my inspire 1. Yep not played with it yet but will now, thanks for sharing;)
     
  6. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    It is cool, I even tried to land on myself but it just went through me!
     
    Clampit likes this.
  7. Clampit

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Lol:D I'll definitely have to try it now, sound good fun;) went through ya..... Brilliant :D