Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Having DBS install Mod

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by AZChip, Jan 24, 2016.

  1. AZChip

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone paid to have DBS install the DBS mod, and if so did they do a good job and how long did it take to get your RC back? Thank you


    -"I may be tall but I want to feel even taller!"
     
  2. kingfisher555

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Capac Mi USA
    looks really simple to install it.
     
  3. oakmeadows

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    U.K
    I did mine last week and it took around 30 mins and was really easy to do


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did it myself. Wasn't difficult. Watched video on the how to. Don't rush. Use the old saying, Measure twice, cut (or drill) once.
     
  5. AZChip

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not so concerned about the drilling as I am the electronics. The video shows that it's very sensitive and you need to be careful not to damage the surrounding components. Should I be worried at all?


    -"I may be tall but I want to feel even taller!"
     
  6. kingfisher555

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Capac Mi USA
    How does that dbs mob work for you? I haven't been out to far yet . today I made it out just over 600 ft and get her up to 400 ft up. Started loosing video signal at 380. I could of went futher out I have big open farm fields around my place but I got nervous lol
     
  7. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    From what ive heard, if you want him to do the installation, the whole process takes about a week. Also safe to assume he does a good install on it.

    That being said, it is very easy to install yourself and i did it in about 30 min. the risk is there to mess up the connection. if you take your time scraping off the silicone carefully, you should be fine. just hot glue the connections down after installation. since you dont feel comfortable about the drilling, just make sure the wires are out of the way and drill from the inside of the controller instead of from the outside.

    I think its possible some people who havent gotten results probably did the installation themselves and messed up the connections, doubt the person would admit it though.
     
  8. kingfisher555

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Capac Mi USA
    Do you see a big difference in your distance.? Does the mod help out with the wifi connection at all?
     
  9. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just take your time. An Exacto knife and tweezers will help it go smoothly.
     
  10. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    The weather here has been crazy cold. Hopefully, the weekend will be better. It's KILLING me to have a new Phantom, with the mod, and cant even get out!
     
  11. Noble 1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon
    I made this DBS ITELITE v02 installation guide last night. For those of you who want to see a play by play with pics instead of a speed video. This is for the P3P/A not P3S.
    DBS ITELITE MOD 02 P3P or A.docx
     
    davestern2 likes this.