Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Hate the new controller scroll wheel

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by d4ddyo, Nov 29, 2014.

  1. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hate the new scroll wheel. It's NOT precise. The new firmware sucks... GoPro points down. It's very twitchy. NO matter how smooth and deliberate you are the gopro twitches and sometimes you can't get to compete vertical.

    http://youtu.be/wK8EfH9uHDU?list=UUUGJs ... 9yw67YBuOg
     
  2. erikgraham

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New York and Philadelphia
    Check out Mopar Bob's instructions on page 5 of this thread:

    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=29063&start=40

    Obviously you are not setting it up for the first time, so you can skip step 2 (binding), but step 1 (redownload RC application) and step 3 and above might help.
     
  3. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Holy crap. It worked. Didn't think it would ... but it did. Now if only i can start the gimbal from the normal position instead of the down position
     
  4. erikgraham

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New York and Philadelphia
    I know. The mods should grab that set of instructions by Mopar and make it a sticky. It is so awesome.
     
  5. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    It really makes no sense why it should work. LOL
     
  6. xtonex

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Theres no reason to uninstall things etc etc IF you have the newest phantom assistant... just reading the manual and seeing that after EVERY firmware update you should be doing a full calibration of EVERY thing possible... and the x1 needs to be done in the rc assistant first and then the phantom assistant. this has been known even before the new controller when it comes to x1 issues
     
  7. erikgraham

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New York and Philadelphia
    Of course. Your 1000% right. But some claim that DJI updated the software without changing the version number. So the only way to ensure you have the latest version is to uninstall and reinstall. Personally I find that hard to believe DJI would break with version numbering conventions, but its so trivial to re-download and reinstall that I tried it anyway, and low and behold the gimbal started functioning correctly.