Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Has your DJI Pilot App shown 'Disconnected' during flight recently?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by tonyt76, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    81
    It seems like a lot of people here are experiencing the DJI Pilot app going grey and showing 'Disconnected' during flight. I'm not talking about for a few seconds, it will drop and not reconnect without powering the controller off then back on, which will initiate a RTH.

    If this has happened to you recently please post your Model, Firmware, Version (iOS/Android) and any other helpful information.

    P3A
    v1.1.9
    iOS v1.1.2
    Using 1ft Anker lightening cable
    Outside temp around 90F
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  2. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    No, it has never happened.
     
  3. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Yes, every single flight.

    P3P
    Firmware v1.2.6
    Android app 1.2.0
    Nexus 7 (2013) on stock OS
    Cable included with P3
    a range of temperatures all under 90F
     
  4. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    My first port of call would be the cable - use a genuine Apple one and you can rule that part out. But not if it is old and worn, obviously.
     
  5. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    81
    It has only happened to me once so far and the only thing different was the 1ft Anker lightening cable. I will go back to the genuine Apple lightening cable and see if it happens again.
     
  6. 73don

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same prob on my first flight. still trying to find out why the 6/16 firmware upgrade says "successful" on the chip and says "needs upgrade" on the transmitter! The app still shuts down. Its a new p3 advanced.
     
    Volantis likes this.
  7. Volantis

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Alma, IL
    I have the same thing. I just upgraded to 1.2.6 and both upgrades reported successful. However, when I use the pilot app it says I still need an upgrade. For now, I'm using the android app, but I hope to be using iOS at the end of the week.
     
  8. AlexJ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My trouble started when I started using the Anker Lightening Cable. Once i removed it and started using my Apple cable again, the problem went away
     
  9. NoOne

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    28
    I use this Anker cable and I have no problems.......
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  10. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    try uninstalling and reinstalling the app for what that's worth-- may work
     
  11. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Knock it off with the troll comments. Just because they are new and have an issue does not make them a troll.
     
    davemex likes this.
  12. Wtrskinut1

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    9
    Exact same issues.
    P3P
    1.2.6
    Android 1.2.0
    Disconnect last night for 5 min.
     
  13. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I have cleaned the thread up and warnings were issued. Be patient with new members. New members, be sure to search the forum before posting issues and be sure to post in the right location... which in this case is the P3 help area. Thanks for your cooperation. ;)
     
    dec and dirkclod like this.
  14. 3TailsMedia

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    9
    When I search "disconnected alert" from main search bar up top, I do not get the same "similar threads" suggestion as I do when I start to create a new thread... it saved me from getting pounced on by those reactive, impatient types. Why is there this discrepancy between the search above and the one created from starting a thread???
     
  15. MJF739B

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    29
    I re-linked the controller to the P3 and the issue went away.
     
    davemex and Buckaye like this.
  16. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    What OS are you using for the tablet/phone? Were you getting some connection but after a while it stopped working?

    I went through all the online support troubleshooting steps. They recommended trying multiple devices, new cables, re-installing the app, and clearing the video cache. None of that worked. Finally I called DJI support in L.A. (get ready for a 30 minute wait) and they issued me an RMA for warranty repair and gave me a shipping label. There is a 5-6 week wait for repairs so I'd love to be able to fix this without having to ship the drone off. I'd also love for it to be working before the 4th of July weekend...
     
  17. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    This! I did the same thing and have not had the problem since.
     
    davemex and MJF739B like this.
  18. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    Same issue.. Comes and goes. Advanced latest firm/app
     
  19. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    This has me really excited about a possible solution. Can you confirm exactly what symptoms you had and what device you were using to control the P3 when you got the "disconnected" issue? I'm going to try this as soon as I get home now! Fingers crossed!
     
  20. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Problem for newbies is that the search function is hidden behind that grey bar along the top of the screen, at least it is on my setup.

    Maybe get Jacob to look at this?