Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Has anyone tried this FPV/Telemetry setup?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by DattaGroover, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    A Spektrum DX8 controller, with a TM1000 receiver (would have to swap the existing DJI receiver out), and a telemetry module. This would be for a Phantom 2, video from a GoPro 3+ Black

    The controller and receiver is supposedly much better than the stock DJI pairing in terms of range and connection.

    The Spekrum DX8 has settable alarms, so I could really keep an eye on my battery levels, etc.

    I'm not married to this either, so if you have a better idea/system, let me know. Either way, tell me what you think.

    Thanks!
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    I don't think the Naza inside the Phantom 2 supports traditional PWM inputs. You would need to use a receiver that supports S-Bus and I don't think that any of the Spektrum receivers do this.
     
  3. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    Good to know. What is PWM? Is that the protocol the Spektrum receiver uses (as opposed to S-bus)?

    I see a lot of videos on YouTube with people putting spektrum receivers in their phantoms, but the application always seems a little different, which is why I'm still cloudy on this.

    Thanks for the input.
     
  4. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    PWM is what's usually referred to as traditional inputs. One connection per channel. S-Bus sends all the channels down one wire.
    I see plenty of people with Phantom 1s using Spektrum but that had a full Naza inside that supports PWM inputs. I've not seen anyone with a P2 and a Spektrum transmitter and receiver though.
    I do know of one person using an Orange receiver that works with Spektrum but also supports S-Bus too. I wouldn't trust my craft with Orange gear though.
     
  5. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ahh- that explains why I've seen so many Phantoms on YouTube with the DX8, but no Phantom 2s. I assumed incorrectly the P2s would have the same compatibility.
    Thanks for straightening me out on that. Guess my DX8 will be going on eBay.
     
  6. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    Does your FrSky Taranis work with the stock DJI receiver in your P2? Is it a lot better than the stock DJI controller?

    How well does your iOSD perform?

    Thanks!
     
  7. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    No, you need to replace the internal receiver from the stock DJI to the X8R, but yes the FrSky Taranis is much better than the stock DJI tx.
     
  8. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    Got it. But then unlike the Spektrum, the X8R is compatible with the iOSD, is that correct?
     
  9. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    IOSD is for telemetry data overlay, any tx will work with it, you only need to connect the video out from camera to the IOSD and connect the OSD video out to the video transmitter.

    But yes X8R works perfectly fine with both Phantom 1 or 2, no interference of any kind.
     
  10. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    Okay, thanks for reminding me. I was confused.

    So it's that some of the tx (like the Spektrum) won't work with the P2.
     
  11. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    I notice the Tyrannis X9D comes in a mode 1 and a mode 2 (same price). Do you kow what the difference is? (I would use this with a P2 with a Zenmuse H3-3D)
     
  12. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    For RC controllers, Mode 2 means throttle is on the left stick by default (like on the Phantom controller), mode 1 means it's on the right stick by default, all other axis are the same between mode 1 and 2. This chart shows the stick assignments that define the 4 common modes:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks!