Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Hard Resetting the Phantom 2 Naza Firmware

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by Mako79, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Credit goes to RickM
    I haven't seen this before and I think it should be a sticky. Apologies if ii is a repost.
    I think it would be good last resort if your gimbal/firmware/naza fails to update correctly.
    Even better if you want to roll back your firmware.
    http://www.droneslinger.com/software.html

     
    flyNfrank and IflyinWY like this.
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    When I grow up I want to be like him.

    Thanks for the post Mako79
     
  3. Buddy Stewart

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, has anyone successfully used this procedure to downgrade below v3.08? I'm trying to get back to v1.08 (I know, super old..) which was working incredibly well for me. Wish I had never upgraded and now I'm on the verge of throwing this POS into the ocean!

    I've read a few posts saying that there's no going below v3.08 though, even with the hard reset instructions in the video. Anyone been able to do it?
     
  4. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Welcome to the party Buddy...

    I don't think this is what you're looking for, but it was shared with me recently and would like to pass it on here.
    http://naza-upgrade.com/

    There is a great search link in my signature, follow the instructions and it may get you where you want to be.

    Enjoy the show :D
     
  5. Buddy Stewart

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh man... Sounds like we may be stuck with this horrible firmware for a while then, huh? Man. It would've been so easy to leave well enough alone.. They say "the enemy of good is great". Well, now I know what they mean. Thanks for the info. Hope to hear some good news somewhere.. In the meantime, I think I have myself a flying paperweight with an attitude..
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  6. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Getta bigger hammer... :eek:
     
  7. Buddy Stewart

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well. Looks like I'm going to have to send my quad and controller in for repair.. Now I have to wait 6 weeks and hope they can fix it, and hope I don't get charged. Very disappointed.

    The take home lesson for me is NEVER upgrade your firmware for any reason.. While it probably works fine for a lot of owners a lot of the time, the risk of a catastrophic update is just not worth taking in my opinion.