Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Hard Core Reset For P2V+ Question. Loss Of Gimbal Control.

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Blue Bird, Nov 6, 2015.

  1. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Hey Fellow Pilots, I have been a pilot flying and repairing Phantoms and Inspires for a long time now, But ran across a issue after re flashing the firmware of a Phantom 2 Vision Plus. After the hard reset, The AC powers on fine and the camera sets up ready for input from the DJI Vision App. However when I tilt the camera in the app, It stays straight down and wont respond to the DJI Vision in the app after that. Total loss of control of the gimbal. All other functions work correctly except this issue. I have tried to find a fix but to no avail. The Assistant software for the P2 after re flash says the gimbal is currant version. Does any one possibly have a solution to this?
    Thanks in advance for your response.,, Blue Bird........
     
    #1 Blue Bird, Nov 6, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2015
  2. sdtag

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    23
    try this:

    calibration.jpg
     
  3. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Thanks, however the RC that I have here is with out the gimbal lever on the back. This P2V+ only uses the app for gimbal tilt.
     
  4. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Yes, I did follow that procedure and now have lost control of the RC to AC. Do I have to re bind them after this procedure? Whoops! This reply was directed to sdtag.
     
  5. yorlik

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    91
    duplicate post to dji forum.... i wll ask here too then:

    when you 'tilt it down' it gets stuck. what happens if you tilt it only 10% down? 20% down?

    how do you do a 'hard reset' to pv2+?

    what does abbreviation 'AC' mean?
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    What firmware you reflashing it with? Each Phantom Assist carries its own firmware.

    Does the tilt happen when you turn on the phantom with the remote off? Then when you power on the remote, does it start tilting? If it does, the potentiometer on the rear slider could be shorting out or giving it bad values. Plug into RC12 or Phantom assist and check if it remains on 0.

    Also, try setting the vision app to use the GYRO mode. This will use the phones gyro to tilt.
     
  7. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Thanks for replying.
    What's strange about the gimbal tilt is if you press to tilt down, nothing happens. When you press to go up, It go's straight down and locks. No more response.. Really strange to see this. It's what makes me think that it is a firmware glitch. The gimbal was working fine before the hard reset of the main flight controller. It should have not effected the gimbal, but apparently it has.
    AC is short for Aircraft and MC means Main Controller. On how to hard reset, Just you tube it.
     
  8. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Yes to your first statement. I checked for all these parameters using all 3 assistant software applications. v3.2 v3.6 v3.8. I have checked trying to use Gyro, but that doesn't work as well.
    I really don't believe it's a actual gimbal malfunction. It must be a firmware glitch. The gimbal tilt was fine before the hard reset.
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Try a few things...
    Try selecting basic mode or vice versa.
    Try and install the DJI app on another device. If you have IOS, try android. It does sound software related.

    Can you post what firmware tab. I just want see what firmware is on your main board, gimbal, camera etc.
     
    Blue Bird likes this.
  10. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Here.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Thanks Mako79! When you said Basic mode, That made me think about the last firmware upgrade that the client had performed. The Phantom was in the Phantom format only and not in the Naza mode. I converted to Naza and bingo, there it was. The transmitter was set to the new updated transmitter. Obviously, This was automatic when the firmware was updated. Nasty of DJI to not tell people about this.This would also explain why the Phantom was flying erratically as well as the calibrations are also different in the newer remote. I placed back in basic transmitter mode and re calibrated everything. Now it fly's as expected and gimbal works flawlessly.
    Thanks again!,,, Blue Bird...